BRASS Public Librarian Support Award

Back to BRASS Awards




This annual award sponsored by Morningstar, offers a cash award of $1,250* in travel funds for a public librarian, who has demonstrated interest in providing business reference services and who requires financial assistance, to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



  • The candidate must be a member of ALA. If not a RUSA/BRASS member, the recipient must join RUSA/BRASS upon being selected to receive the award.
  • The recipient shall have a demonstrated interest in providing business reference services. This may be demonstrated by involvement in special projects, creation of a business website, business-related programming, publications, and related activities.
  • The award will be given to a recipient whose conference attendance is not fully funded by their institution.
  • Recipient must be willing to participate in BRASS activities at the ALA Conference for which the award has been made.



To nominate a librarian, complete the Public Librarian Support Award nomination form, following the submission instructions therein. Self-nominations are accepted.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.


Submission Guidelines

To nominate a librarian, please submit a nomination form, outlining the nominee’s accomplishments in public librarianship and business reference, including but not limited to involvement in special projects; creation of a business web site; outstanding service to the community; and publications.


Award Recipients

2023: John L. Amundsen, Business Librarian, Wilmette Public Library; Wilmette, IL

2021: Alexander Blend, Librarian at Middle Country Public Library

2020: Ashley Johnson


2018: Amilcar Perez, Adult Services Librarian at Forest Park Public Library

2017: Erin Cavell, Small Business Librarian at Minneapolis Central Library (M.N.)

2016: Susan Wolf Neilson, librarian, Wake County Public Libraries (N.C.)

2015: Barbara Alvarez, Barrington Area Library (Illinois)


2013: Salvatore DiVincenzo, Middle Country Public Library (N.Y.)

2012: Anne MacDonald

2011: Suzanne J. Kaller

2010: Ed Rossman, Adult Services Librarian, Shaker Heights (Ohio) Public Library

2009: Not presented

2008: Elizabeth Malafi

2007: Rachelle Miller

2006: Not presented

2005: Terry Zarsky

2004: Kay Cormier

2003: Bryce Thornton

2002: Sandra G. Rizzo

2001: Lisa Holbrook

2000: Karen Van Drie