BRASS Excellence in Business Librarianship Award

Back to BRASS Awards


Mergent logo


Established in 1989, the BRASS Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship offers $4,000* and a citation.

This award recognizes an individual librarian who has built a record of contributions over time which, taken altogether, demonstrate the individual’s excellence in business librarianship.

This award is sponsored by Mergent by FTSE Russell.

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.



The selection of a recipient is accomplished through a review of written nominations by the BRASS Award for Excellence in Business Librarianship Committee.

A strong candidate will demonstrate sustained excellence in business librarianship from several of the areas outlined below. Nominations in collaboration with other colleagues or even the nominee themselves are encouraged, as are self-nominations.

The recipient’s contributions may lie in a variety of endeavors such as:

  1. Developing and/or teaching effective business information programming to students, community members, information professionals, etc.
  2. Demonstrating strong leadership and service to a professional organization in business librarianship, business education, or community business organizations (Chambers of Commerce, accelerators, etc.).
  3. Authoring influential books or articles in business librarianship, or contributing to the discussion of business librarianship and business information through non-scholarly communication channels.
  4. Providing mentorship and support in the area of business librarianship to library colleagues in order to attract, promote, and retain them in the profession.
  5. Other activities that demonstrate excellence in business librarianship or engage communities with the topic of business information.




Nominations must clearly state the contributions of the nominee to the field of business librarianship and explain the significance of the contributions beyond one’s workplace (such as impact on practices of the field, breadth and depth of research, effect of leadership on organizations) and their sustained influence. Self-nominations and nominations in collaboration with the nominee are welcomed. Previous award winners are not eligible. Previous winners

To submit a nomination, complete the BRASS Excellence in Business Librarianship Award nomination form.

Questions should be directed to the committee chair.


Submission Guidelines

Letters of nomination should be submitted along with the nomination form. These letters must clearly state the contributions of the nominee in the field of business librarianship, and must explain the significance of these contributions and the magnitude of their influence. Self-nominations are accepted.


Award Recipients

2023: Hal P. Kirkwood, Bodleian Business Librarian, Saïd Business School, University of Oxford

2022: Wendy G. Pothier, Business and Economics Librarian, Associate Professor, University of New Hampshire

2021: Mark Pond, Business Reference Librarian, Spokane Public Library

2020: Steven Mark Cramer, Business Librarian & Coleman Fellow for Entrepreneurship Education, UNC Greensboro

2019: Todd Hines, Manager, Research & Discovery and Business Research Librarian, Stanford University GSB Library

2018: Chris LeBeau, Assistant Teaching Professor, University of Missouri and Librarian for Management and Public Administration

2017: Elizabeth Malafi, Coordinator at the Miller Business Center, Middle Country Public Library

2016: Jared Hoppenfeld, business librarian, Texas A&M University

2015: Peter Z. McKay, business librarian, University of Florida

2014: Celia Ross, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan

2013: Michael R. Oppenheim, Rosenfeld Management Library, UCLA

2012: Rita W. Moss

2011: Nicolette Warisse Sosulski, Portage District Library

2010: Jennifer Boettcher, Business Reference Librarian at Georgetown University

2009: Michael Halperin, Lippincott Library, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

2008: Gary White

2007: Sylvia James

2006: Bobray Bordelon

2005: Charles J. Popovich

2004: Michael Madden

2003: Anne P. Mintz

2002: Irwin D. Faye

2001: Karen Chapman

2000: Catherine R. Friedman

1999: Priscilla Cheng Geahigan

1998: John Ganly

1997: Paul Wasserman

1996: Ruth A. Pagell

1995: Mark Leggett

1994: Judith May Nixon

1993: Lorna Daniells

1992: Michael R. Lavin

1991: Gerald L. Gill

1990: Diane C. Strauss