BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award

Back to BRASS Awards



This award presents a citation and $1,250 to an individual new to the field of academic business librarianship in order to support attendance at the ALA Annual Conference. This award is made possible by the generous support of Global Financial Data.



The selection of a recipient is accomplished through a review of written nominations by the BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award Committee. Nomination letters should address the following criteria:

  • The candidate should be an academic librarian with five or fewer years of experience in business librarianship
  • Nominee’s interest in business librarianship as demonstrated by activities that may include (but are not limited to) past coursework, internships, jobs, special projects, and publications (40%)
  • An explanation of how the ALA experience will enhance individual career development and the advancement of the profession of business librarianship (30%)
  • A demonstrated financial need (20%)
  • The candidate does not need to be a member of ALA, RUSA, or BRASS but preference will be given to those that are members (10%)

View BRASS Academic Librarian Travel Award Rubric.


To nominate a deserving candidate, complete the BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award nomination form by February 23rd, 2024

Questions about the award and submission process may be directed to the committee chair.


Submission Guidelines

Submit the following materials with the nomination form:

  1. A letter of nomination addressing the criteria
  2. The nominee’s current CV
  3. Self-nominations are encouraged to include an additional letter of recommendation

*Monetary award amounts are subject to change without notice and are contingent upon donor funding supplied at the time the award is presented.

**If the in-person ALA Annual Conference in 2023 ends up being virtual, the award can be applied to other ALA-sponsored professional development opportunities as well. For example, an award winner could use their award to attend the virtual ALA conference and use the remainder of the award on other ALA-sponsored opportunities of choice.


Award Recipients

2023: Angel Truesdale, Social Sciences and Business Librarian, Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

2022: Alison Messier, Business & Entrepreneurship Services Librarian, W.E.B. Du Bois Library

2021: Blake Robinson, Business Librarian, Rollins College

2020: Catherine Fournier Boulianne, University of Toronto Mississauga

2019: Abigail Morgan, Social Sciences & Business Librarian, Miami University

2018: Alice Kalinowski, Liaison Librarian, the University of Pittsburgh

2017: Bradley J. Kuykendall, Reference and Instruction Librarian at Lincoln University, Missouri

2016: Ruth D. Terry, business and government information librarian, assistant professor, University of Alaska-Anchorage

2015: Grace Liu, University of Maine

2014: Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet, James Madison University

2013: Annette Buckley, University of California at Irvine

2012: Joel Glogowski