Achievement Awards


RUSA Division Level                     





The Reference and User Services Association represents librarians and library staff in the fields of reference, specialized reference, collection development, readers’ advisory and resource sharing. RUSA is the foremost organization of reference and information professionals who make the connections between people and the information sources, services, and collection materials they need. 

RUSA’s Achievement Awards Program honors the best in reference librarianship and its many specialties. These awards recognize and honor the outstanding professional contributions and achievements of your RUSA peers. This special recognition by RUSA enhances the sense of personal growth and accomplishment of our members, provides our membership with role models, and strengthens the image of our membership in the eyes of employers, leadership, and the librarianship community as a whole.


RUSA Division Level:

RUSA Isadore Gilbert Mudge Award
RUSA Margaret E. Monroe Library Adult Services Award sponsored by NoveList
RUSA John Sessions Memorial Award sponsored by Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO
RUSA Award for Excellence in Reference and Adult Library Services sponsored by Data Axle Reference Solutions
RUSA Gail Schlachter Memorial Research Grant
RUSA Exceptional Service Award
RUSA Federal Achievement Award
RUSA Federal Rising Stars Initiative
RUSA Francis Joseph Campbell Award
RUSA/Keystone Library Automation System (KLAS) & National Organization on Disability (NOD) Award
RUSA Stephen T. Riedner Grant for Life Enhancing Library Programs for People Living with Dementia

RUSA Section Level:


BRASS Public Librarian Support Award sponsored by Morningstar
BRASS Student Travel Award sponsored by SimplyAnalytics
BRASS Excellence in Business Librarianship Award sponsored by Mergent
BRASS Research Grant Award
BRASS Academic Business Librarianship Travel Award sponsored by Global Financial Data


CODES Zora Neale Hurston Award sponsored by Harper Collins Publishers
CODES Louis Shores Award


ETS Best Emerging Technology Application Award sponsored by Chatstaff and LibraryH3lp
ETS Achievement Award


HS Genealogy / History Achievement Award sponsored by FamilySearch
HS History Research and Innovation Award (on hiatus as of 2023)


RSS Service Achievement Award


STARS Virginia Boucher Distinguished ILL Librarian Award sponsored by OCLC
STARS Publication Recognition Award
STARS Mentoring Award sponsored by Atlas Systems