Stonewall Book Awards

stonewall book award logo


The first and most enduring award for LGBTQIA+ books is the Stonewall Book Awards, sponsored by the American Library Association's Rainbow Round Table (formerly the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table). Since Isabel Miller's Patience and Sarah received the first award in 1971, many other books have been honored for exceptional merit relating to the LGBTQIA+ experience.

The Stonewall Book Award-Barbara Gittings Literature Award, the Stonewall Book Award-Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award and the Stonewall Book Award-Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award are presented to English language works published the year prior to the announcement date. The award is announced in January/February and presented to the winning authors or editors at the American Library Association Annual Conference in June. The award winners each receive a commemorative plaque and $1,000.

Suggest a title to the appropriate Stonewall Book Awards Committee

  • Suggest a title for the 2025 Barbara Gittings Literature Award (adult literature titles)
  • Suggest a title for the 2025 Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award (adult non-fiction titles)
  • Suggest a title for the 2025 Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award (children and young adult titles)

Anyone may suggest a title to the Stonewall Book Awards Committee for consideration. Members of the Stonewall Book Awards Committee may not recommend a book that they have contributed to, edited, or in any other way been affiliated with, or a book authored or edited by a member of their immediate family or anyone with whom they currently share a household. A short statement describing why the book is being recommended can accompany the request. All suggestions must be submitted via the appropriate online form.

For information regarding the Stonewall Book Awards (including the awards ceremony and promotional material), please contact the appropriate committee chair or


  • Barbara Gittings Literature Award

  • Israel Fishman Non-Fiction Award

  • Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children's and Young Adult Literature Award

Get Involved

To volunteer to serve on a Stonewall Book Awards committee, or any other RRT committee, use the Committee Volunteer Form.

Additional Information