President's Column

Greetings NMRT Members!

The 2013 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, IL is just around the corner. NMRT has a number of scheduled events including our usual orientations and board meeting. The President's Program committee has organized a great panel on "Building Your Professional Toolkit." I hope you will attend.

I especially encourage attendees from our student chapters and library schools to attend the Student Reception where the winner and runner-up of the Student Chapter of the Year Award will be recognized. NMRT will close out the conference with an Awards Reception celebrating the recipients of the NMRT Professional Development Grant, Annual Conference Professional Development and the Shirley Olofson Award.

Finally, the Annual Program committee is putting together a virtual session in early June on publishing. Look for more details on this session to be shared on the NMRT listserv shortly.

Congratulations to the newly elected board members, Megan, Kirby, Kate and Kari, who will join the returning members in July to form the 2013-2014 NMRT Executive Board.

  • Emily Prather-Rodgers, President
  • Megan Hodge, Vice-President/President-Elect
  • Janel Kinlaw, Immediate Past President
  • Kirby McCurtis, Secretary
  • Jonathan Lu, Treasurer
  • Susan Jennings, Councilor
  • Kate Kosturski, Leadership Development Director
  • Kari Weaver, Member Services Director
  • Barbara Lewis, Networking Director
  • Bohyun Kim, Outreach Director
  • Cory Lampert, Fundraising Director

Thank you to Jessica, Linda, Curtis, and Coral whose terms on the Executive Board are ending at the end of June. Thanks to everyone who volunteered to run for office. Thanks also to those of you who voted!

It has been an honor serving as your President over the past year. Thank you to all the volunteers who share their passion and hard work. The creativity and overall spirit of the group is motivating! I am looking forward to seeing the great things this roundtable will do in the years to come!

Feel free to send your questions, suggestions or concerns about NMRT to me via email. I would love to hear from you!

Janel Kinlaw
NMRT President, 2012-2013