Shirley Olofson Award Winner Announced

Kirby McCurtis is the 2012 recipient of the New Members Round Table (NMRT) Shirley Olofson Memorial Award.  This award, named in honor of the late NMRT President Shirley Olofson, is given annually to defray the costs of attending the ALA Annual Conference.  Criteria for the award include membership in ALA and NMRT, promise or activity in the area of professional development, and there must be financial need.

Kirby McCurtis is a Youth Librarian at Multnomah County Library in Portland, Oregon.  She earned her MLIS from the University of California, Los Angeles and her BA in sociology at the University of California, Santa Cruz.  Kirby is an ALA Councilor-At-Large and is active in NMRT and BCALA.  She is also a 2010 Emerging Leader.  
The committee would like to thank all who applied for this year's Shirley Olofson Memorial Award.  Further information about this award, including past recipients and how to apply for this award is available at the NMRT awards page.
The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee 2011-2012:
Holly Okuhara, Chair
Natalie Clewell
Holly Gerber
Christy Rickey Meister
Angiah Davis