2009 Shirley Olofson Award Winner Chosen

by Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee 2008-2009

Candice Anne Wing-Yee Mack is the 2009 recipient of the New Members
Round Table (NMRT) Shirley Olofson Memorial Award. This award, named
in honor of the late NMRT President Shirley Olofson, is given annually
to defray the costs of attending the ALA Annual Conference. Criteria
for the award include membership in ALA and NMRT, promise or activity
in the area of professional development, and financial need.

Candice is a Young Adult Librarian at the Encino-Tarzana Branch of the
Los Angeles Public Library. She holds a MLIS from UCLA and a BA in
Psychology from UC Riverside. She currently serves on YALSA's
Membership Division and Promotion Committee, and is a member of their
"Great Graphic Novels for Teens" committee.

The committee would like to thank all who applied for this year's
Shirley Olofson Memorial Award. Further information about this award,
including past recipients, is available on the NMRT awards page
( http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/rts/nmrt/initiatives/applyforfunds/applyfunds.cfm).