SCOTYA Winners Announcement 2006-2007

The New Members Round Table (NMRT) and the American Library Association (ALA) Membership Committee wish to congratulate the University of Arizona School of Information Resources and Library Science ALA Student Chapter as the winner of the 2007 ALA Student Chapter of the Year Award. The runner-up of this year's award is the University of South Carolina School of Library and Information Science ALA Student Chapter.

The Student Chapter of the Year Award is presented in recognition of a chapter’s outstanding contributions to ALA, its school, and the profession. The purpose of the award is to increase student involvement in ALA through student chapters and to recognize its leaders. Official ALA Student Chapters are organizations formed by students at schools offering accredited programs of library and information studies. The winning student chapter receives a $1,000 travel grant to help with the cost of conference attendance.

This year's Student Chapter of the Year Award committee members commended the University of Arizona ALA Student Chapter for its strong leadership and impressive communication efforts. The programming is extremely impressive as well. The chapter offers a variety of programming and they seem to have excellent attendance. Recently, the chapter conducted a survey to find out what services their members would like to see and to find out what they are doing well. This survey yielded many ideas for programming that the chapter is working to implement.

According to Leslie Kunkel, Assistant Director, LIS Program, "It has been a privilege and a pleasure for me to advise our ALA Student Chapter! Our Chapter Officers have been enthusiastic, committed to the profession, helpful, and highly productive this year. I've certainly learned a great deal from all our members and look forward to working with them for years to come."

The runner-up of this year's award, the ALA Student Chapter of the University of South Carolina, is honored for its strong recruitment efforts and its community service activities. The President and former Service Chair were recently honored with the William M. Trafton Outstanding Award for Leadership, which they accepted on behalf of the chapter.

The SCOTYA committee members, the ALA Membership Committee, and NMRT extend their appreciation to all the ALA student chapters for their time and effort in submitting nominations for 2007. Keep up the good work!

Terry Buckner, Chair
ALA NMRT Student Chapter of the Year Award Committee
Bluegrass Community and Technical College
470 Cooper Drive, 222B Oswald Building
Lexington, KY 40506-0235