Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Winner Announcement

The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee is very pleased to announce that Marissa Ball is the 2007 recipient of the New Members Round Table Shirley Olofson Memorial Award. This award, named in honor of the late NMRT President Shirley Olofson, is given annually to defray the costs of attending the ALA Annual Conference, this year in Washington, DC. Criteria of the award include membership in ALA and NMRT, promise or activity of professional development, and financial need.

Marissa Ball is currently a Reference Assistant at Florida International University's Green Library, in Miami, Florida. She is about to complete her Master of Arts degree from the University of South Florida, with a major in Library and Information Science. She has a BA from the University of Florida, with a major in English and a minor in Women's Studies.

The Committee would like to thank all who applied for this year's Shirley Olofson Memorial Award and encourage everyone to apply for the Award in the future (at

Please join us in congratulating Marissa Ball!

The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee 2006-2007

Laurel Bliss, Chair
Robin Ewing
Tiana French
Angela Kille
Kristin Whitehair