NMRT Candidates and Online Forum Information

nmrt footnotes

by the NMRT Nominating Committee

An in-person forum for NMRT candidates was held at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in San Antonio last month during the NMRT All-Committee meeting. Candidates fielded questions from the NMRT Nominating Committee, as well as from NMRT members. Questions focused on leadership abilities, ideas for the future of NMRT, and how to best involve new members.

If you missed the in-person forum of NMRT candidates in San Antonio, never fear! The NMRT Nominating Committee will be moderating an online candidates forum from Feb. 14, 2006 to Mar. 10, 2006. The forum allows candidates to discuss their candidacy and answer questions, while providing NMRT members an opportunity to hear directly about the issues that matter most to them. The online forum is already underway and the schedule is as follows:

  • February 14-17, Vice-President/President Elect Candidates
  • February 21-24, Treasurer and Secretary Candidates
  • February 28-March 3, Director Candidates
  • March 7-10, ALA President Candidates

To participate in the online forum, you must subscribe to NMRT-L and be online between Feb. 14 and Mar. 10, 2006. For information about how to subscribe to NMRT-L, please see:  http://www.ala.org/ala/nmrt/nmrtmailinglists.htm

For details on this year’s candidates, please visit: For more information about the NMRT candidates, the election, and other details, please see the Nominating Committee website.

This Year’s NMRT Candidates


  • Nanette Donohue
  • Tanzi Merritt Sutton


  • Amy Gonzalez Ferguson
  • Sarah Robbins


  • Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen
  • Kara Whatley


  • Sally Bickley
  • Katie Dunneback
  • Samantha Schmehl-Hines

If you have any questions about this year's election or the online candidate forum, please let us know at nmrtnominating [at] gmail.com.

NMRT Nominating Committee:

Erin Ellis Chair (05-06)
Tiana French
Jessica Hutchings