NMRT Annual Program Offers Advise on Salary Negotiation

By Beth Canzoneri

When assessing a job offer, don't sit back and hope for the best - step forward to make it your best offer! Join us online March 3 at noon (EST) for "Salary Negotiation: How to make your next offer your best offer" and learn how from Jennifer Dorning and Aliqae Geraci, co-authors of ALA's Advocating for Better Salaries Toolkit (5th edition).

Sponsored by the New Members Round Table (NMRT) Annual Program Committee, the session will be accessible online through Adobe Connect. Please sign in early, as space is limited to 100 participants.

The program will provide an overview of the negotiation process along with resources for researching fair market value and cost of living. Participants will learn how to develop a negotiation strategy, adjust their strategy based on the type of library, and incorporate non-salary compensation factors into asks.

Jennifer Dorning is Research Director for the Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO (DPE) and currently serves as co-chair of the AFL-CIO/ALA Joint Committee on Library Service to Labor. She is a graduate of Portland State University with a Bachelor's degree in Political Science, and Gonzaga University School of Law. Prior to the DPE, Jennifer worked for two years as a criminal defense lawyer.

Aliqae Geraci is ILR Research Librarian and Assessment Coordinator at Cornell University. She chairs the ALA-APA Standing Committee on the Salaries and Status of Library Workers, and co-chairs the RUSA AFL-CIO/ALA Joint Committee on Library Service to Labor Groups. A former public librarian and union researcher, Aliqae holds bachelor's and master's degrees in Labor Studies and received her MSLIS from Long Island University.

The NMRT Annual Program Committee sponsors online programs designed to support library professionals. In addition to "Salary Negotiation: How to make your next offer your best offer," the 2014-15 series will offer a program on networking and the job hunt (June 9). For further information, contact committee co-chairs Alyse Ergood or Beth Canzoneri.