NMRT Professional Development Grant Committee


Choose one recipient for the NMRT Professional Development Grant.


No roster found.

Displaying active committee roster as of 06/18/2024. Last retrieved on 06/18/2024. Refresh now.


This grant was formerly the 3M/NMRT Professional Development Grant. 3M Library Systems supported new librarians by funding the cost of attending an ALA Annual Conference for three grant winners. In 2012, 3M pulled funding for this award, and the NMRT Executive Board voted to support the award as long as possible using existing funding, and to begin to seek out alternate funding in order to support the award indefinitely. The award was changed to support only one winner, and instead of volunteering time for the 3M booth, the winner will volunteer to work as a greeter or resume reviewer for NMRT.

Major Responsibilities and Purpose
  • Solicit applications from qualified individuals.
  • Review applications and select recipient.
  • Notify recipient and those not selected.
  • Coordinate conference attendance and responsibilities of award recipient with NMRT Resume Review coordinator.
  • Transfer necessary committee materials to the new chair and update the application and handbook entry, as needed, once a new chair has been appointed.
  • Current NMRT Executive Board Members are not eligible for the award.


The purpose of the NMRT Professional Development Grant is to encourage professional development and participation by new ALA members in national ALA and NMRT activities. Applicants must be personal ALA/ NMRT members who are working within the continental United States.

Current and Past Recipients

Sarah Gilchrist was the 2018 recipient of the NMRT Professional Development Grant Award, which provided $1,000 to attend ALA Annual. This award provides funding to assist with airfare, lodging, and conference registration fees for ALA Annual and fosters in-person participation in ALA and NMRT professional activities.

Sarah is a research and instruction librarian at Towson University, where she works with education and visual arts. She is also a Diversity Faculty Fellow at Towson for 2017-2019. She has served on the ACRL Arts Conference Program Planning Committee for ALA Annual 2018 and is a member of the ACRL Education and Behavioral Sciences Section Educators Committee from 2015-2019.

Past Recipients