Librarian Recognition Award, 2013-2014

Burhanna Wins Inaugural LIRT Librarian Award

The Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT) awarded its first ever Librarian Recognition Award at ALA Annual on Sunday, June 29, 2014 to Kenneth Burhanna, Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Engagement & Outreach at Kent State University Libraries. The Librarian Recognition Award was created to recognize an individual’s contribution to the development, advancement, and support of information literacy and instruction. Burhanna was chosen as the inaugural winner based on his length and breadth of service in support of information literacy and instruction. 

“Kenneth Burhanna’s commitment to creating and advancing resources that further both high school and college-level information literacy initiatives really resonated with the committee members,” explained Sherri Brown, chair of the Recognition Award selection committee. “Through state and local initiatives, national projects including TRAILS and PRIMO, and award-winning publications, Burhanna’s many accomplishments in instruction merit his attainment of the inaugural LIRT Librarian Recognition Award.”

The Library Instruction Round Table was started in 1977 with the intent to bring together librarians who provide library instruction across all types of libraries -- academic, public, school, and special libraries. 2014 is the first year that the Library Recognition Award has been awarded. Burhanna was presented with a $1000 cash prize, plaque, and $500 travel stipend for attending ALA Annual.

Find out more about LIRT, its mission, and the awards at: /lirt/mission

LIRT Librarian Recognition Awards Committee:
Sherri Brown, Georgia Institute of Technology (CHAIR)
Gale Burrow, The Claremont Colleges
Jonathan Dembo, East Carolina University
Patience Simmonds, Pennsylvania State University

Image of Kenneth Burhanna