Donald G. Davis Article Award

The Donald G. Davis Article Award is presented by the Library History Round Table of the American Library Association every even-numbered year to recognize the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history. The award honors Donald G. Davis, longtime professor at the School of Information at the University of Texas and editor of Libraries & the Cultural Record (formerly Journal of Library History, Philosophy, and Comparative Librarianship). A major contributor to the field, Dr. Davis has authored numerous history articles, advised many notable Ph.D. dissertations, compiled important bibliographies, and edited both the Encyclopedia of Library History (with Wayne Wiegand) and The Dictionary of American Library Biography, Second Supplement.

For a list of previous winners, click here.

Eligibility and Criteria

Entries for the Davis Award must have been published during the two years preceding the award year; e.g. articles from 2022 and 2023 were nominated for the 2024 award. Entries are judged on quality of scholarships, clarity of style, and depth of research. The round table is particularly interested in articles that place the subject within its broader historical, social, cultural, and political context and make interdisciplinary connections with print culture and information studies. One award will be given every second year unless the jury does not find a suitable candidate for that period. Papers that have won the Justin Winsor or Jesse Shera Awards are not eligible for consideration.

Nomination Process

Anyone may nominate one or more articles by uploading the recommendation and the article to the following link:  Link to upload documents

The deadline for new nominations is TBD. 

Receipt will be confirmed within five business days.  If you have any questions regarding the process, please contact Jennifer Bartlett, Chair.

Presentation of the Award

The winner will be announced in a press release following the jury's decision. A certificate honoring the author(s) will be presented at a Library History Round Table award ceremony during the American Library Association Annual Conference.

Committee Members