Meet the GNCRT Board


July 2022 - June 2023 GNCRT Board


Moni Barrette, President (July 2022 - June 2023)

Moni Barrette is a sixteen year public librarian who expanded her expertise in libraries, comics, and relationship building through her role at LibraryPass as the Director of Content Management and Publisher Relations. As co-founder of the nonprofit Creators Assemble, she is dedicated to promoting literacy through the use of comics and popular culture. Moni attends comic conventions, hosts industry networking events, and helps librarians and educators implement comics into their learning spaces. She also loves hanging out with her husband and two growing girls. Follow her on Twitter @MoniBarre


Robin Brenner, President-Elect (July 2022 - June 2023)

Robin Brenner is Teen Librarian at the Public Library of Brookline in Massachusetts. When not presenting programs and providing reading guidance, she writes features for publications including The Horn Book, Library Journal, and School Library Journal.  She is an active member of YALSA and has served on awards committees including the Michael L. Printz Award, Margaret A. Edwards Award, the Boston Globe Horn Book Award and the Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards. She is the editor-in-chief of the graphic novel review website No Flying No Tights.


Matthew Noe, President President (July 2022 - June 2023)

Matthew Noe is Lead Collection & Knowledge Management Librarian at Countway Library, Harvard Medical School, and a part-time instructor at the University of Kentucky in the School of Information Science. He is most well-known for work in comics librarianship, health sciences libraries, and in particular, graphic medicine. Matthew was the 2021-2022 President of the American Library Association’s Graphic Novels and Comics Round Table. He is a founding board member, website editor, and Treasurer for the Graphic Medicine International Collective. You'll find his comics reviews in both Booklist and Diamond Bookshelf. Locally, he is the Treasurer on the Worcester Public Library’s Board of Directors. You can often find him over-caffeinated, ranting about all manner of things on Twitter, or curled up with two dogs, a book, and not enough hands.


Jason Dupree, Secretary (October 2021 - June 2023)

Jason Dupree is the Director of Libraries at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. With a 20-year career as an academic librarian, he has served on several committees and roundtables in ALA, ACRL, RUSA, Core, and many more within the state of Oklahoma. Jason has a lifelong passion for reading, collecting and promoting comics and graphic novels. His current research interest focuses on the use of graphic novels to motivate and engage college students to clear reading deficiencies in remedial courses and gauge their value with student retention.  Beyond librarianship, he has experience in graphic design, media production and art history. The intersection of his experience and passion has allowed him to direct summer camps on digital storytelling, conduct workshops on visual literacy, teach art history courses, and serve as a juror for visual art juried exhibitions and competitions.


Liz Brown, Treasurer (July 2022 - June 2024)

Liz Brown (she/her) is a Circulation Assistant with the Baltimore County Public Library and a recent graduate of the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Master of Library & Information Science program. She is an active member of the Graphic Novels & Comics Round Table as well as the Games & Gaming Round Table. Her research interests include visual literacy, the preservation of self-published and small press works, library events and programming, as well as access and equity.


Shanna Hollich, Member-at-Large (July 2021 - June 2023)

Shanna Hollich is currently the Library Director at the Guthrie Memorial Library in Hanover, PA. They are a career librarian with experience working in K-12, academic, federal, and public libraries. Their current work largely focuses on issues of copyright, open education, scholarly communications, and disability justice. Their favorite graphic novel right now is Daytripper by Gabriel Bá and Fábio Moon.


Soline Holmes, Member-at-Large (July 2021 - June 2023)

Soline Holmes is a school librarian and the Library/Technology Department Chair at Academy of the Sacred Heart in New Orleans, Louisiana. She serves on the Louisiana Young Readers' Choice Award selection committee, is a board member of the New Orleans Information Literacy Collective (2021-22 Chair), and is a Teaching with Primary Sources Network Mentor.  She has given presentations on graphic novels at local and national conferences, co-authored an article about graphic novels as informational texts for Children and Libraries, and was interviewed, with Alicia Schwarzenbach, for Book Links about how to best use graphic novels in the classroom.


Martha Boksenbaum, Member-at-Large (July 2022 - June 2024)

Martha Boksenbaum is a Youth Services Librarian for the Cranston Public Library in Cranston, RI. She works every day to champion graphic novels, manga and anime from her small library branch, and tries to keep up with the amazing number of comics being published today.


Diana Ford, Member-at-Large (July 2022 - June 2024)

Diana Ford is a middle/high school librarian in Severna Park, Maryland where she works to get graphic novels and manga into the hands of eager students. She also serves on YALSA's Amazing Audiobook Blog Team and worked on the team for Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers in the past.


Wendy Stephens, GNCRT Councilor (July 2022 - Jun 2025)

Wendy Stephens has served on numerous ALA committees in the AASL, ALSC, YALSA and CORE divisions, as a part of EMIERT, and as a past ALA Councilor-at-Large. She is currently a member of the SRRT Action Council and chair of the YALSA Research Committee. An associate professor of School Library Media at Jacksonville State University, her doctoral dissertation focused on practices and attitudes of graphic format readers and was informed by both her own passion for visual formats and her support for these popular and important resources in school libraries.


July 2021 - June 2022 GNCRT Board

  • Matthew Noe, President (July 2021 - June 2022)
  • Moni Barrette, President-Elect (July 2021 - June 2022)
  • Eva Volin, Treasurer (July 2020 - June 2022)
  • Jason Dupree, Secretary (October 2021 - June 2023)
  • Martha Boksenbaum, Member-at-Large (July 2021 - June 2022)
  • Elizabeth Brown, Member-at-Large (July 2021 - June 2022)
  • Shanna Hollich, Member-at-Large (July 2021 - June 2023)
  • Soline Holmes, Member-at-Large (July 2021 - June 2023)
  • Wendy Stephens, Interim GNCRT Councilor (October 2021 - June 2022)

July 2020 - June 2021 GNCRT Board

  • Alea Perez, President (July 2020 - June 2021)
  • Matthew Noe, President-Elect (September 2020 - June 2021)
  • Eva Volin, Treasurer (July 2020 - June 2022)
  • Marcela Peres, Member-at-Large (July 2019 - June 2021)
  • Moni Barrette, Member-at-Large (July 2019 - June 2021)
  • Emily Drew, GNCRT ALA Councilor (July 2020 - June 2023)

July 2019 - June 2020 GNCRT Board

  • Amie Wright, President (July 2019 - June 2020)
  • Alea Perez, President-Elect (July 2019 - June 2020)
  • Eva Volin, Treasurer (July 2020 - June 2022)
  • Marcela Peres, Member-at-Large (July 2019 - June 2021)
  • Moni Barrette, Member-at-Large (July 2019 - June 2021)
  • Danica Sheridan, Member-at-Large (July 2019 - June 2020)
  • Matthew Murray, Member-at-Large (July 2019 - June 2020)

July 2017 - June 2019 GNCRT Organizing Committee

  • Amie Wright
  • Carla Reimer
  • Eva Volin
  • Marcela Peres
  • Matthew Murray
  • Mike Pawuk
  • Natalie DeJonghe
  • Robin Brenner