FAFLRT Historical Scholarships

faflrt logo


The Cicely Phippen Marks Scholarship is no longer active.

The Federal Librarians Cicely Phippen Marks Scholarship was given to a library school student who has an interest in working in a Federal library. The student received a scholarship award of $1,500. Students who were currently enrolled in any ALA-accredited library school, who did not already have an ALA accredited degree, and who had expressed an interest in some aspect of Federal librarianship were eligible. Applicants had to be full or part-time students at the time of application. Students nominated themselves for this award and a letter of reference from a Federal librarian, a library school professor, etc. was emailed to the Awards Committee in support of an application.

Federal Librarians Cicely Phippen Marks Scholarship Award Recipients

Year Recipient
2015 [none selected]
2014 Sue E. Graves, San Jose State University
2013 Katherine M. Chan, University of Maryland
2012 Katie Rapp, University of Maryland
2011 Rebecca Carlson, University of North Carolina
2010 Megan Myers, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2009 Michelle Demeter, Florida State University
2008 Alina J. Johnson, University of Michigan
2007 Allison L. Snell, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA


Federal Librarians ProQuest Scholarship Award

In 2011, a special Federal Librarians ProQuest Scholarship was awarded to Candice Melinda LaPlante, St. Catherine University, School of Library and Information Science.