Awards & Scholarships

Christopher J. Hoy/ERT Scholarship

Named for Christopher J. Hoy, who was director of the ALA Conference Services Office for over 20 years. The scholarship was established with donations from the family of Christopher J. Hoy and the Exhibits Round Table (ERT) to honor his memory. See list of previous winners below.

This $5,000 General ALA Scholarship is awarded each year to an individual who will be attending an ALA-accredited program of library and information studies leading to a master's degree. Applications for the scholarship are due by March 1.

For more information about scholarships and the application process please visit ALA Awards and Grants and

Christopher J. Hoy/ERT Scholarship Winners

2018 | Samantha Hyde

2017 | Olivia Muzzy

2016 | Whitney Nelson

2015 | Eliza Bettinger

2014 | Angela D. Price

2013 | Antoinette Solis Mendieta

2012 | Lora Lyn Worden of Portland, OR

2011 | Lori Kristen Neumeier of Little Rock, AR

2010 | Holly Michelle Byers of Chicago, IL

2009 | Jade Torres-Morrison of Albuquerque, NM

2008 | Kathryn Ruth Pettegrew of Camp Hill, PA

2007 | Chelsea Couillard of Wisconsin Dells, WI

2006 | Audra Eagle of Helendale, CA

2005 | Robin White of Bloomington, IN

2004 | Angelica Guerrero of Lemon Grove, CA

2003 | Jill Pitts of Marysvale, UT

2002 | Christopher S. Walter of Haddon Heights, NJ

2001 | Melissa H. Gotsch of Columbus, OH

2001 | Dawn M. Thornton of College Point, NY

2000 | May K. Dea of Portland, OR

2000 | Angela M. Falsey of Chicago, IL

2000 | Janet E. Birsch Kenney of Columbia, SC

2000 | Denise I. Matulka of Lincoln, NE

2000 | Ryan Max Steinberg of San Francisco, CA

1999 | Holly Wissink

1998 | Paul Keith

1997 | Marianne A. Buehler


ERT Scholarship Winners


Melissa A. Adams of Cupertino, CA
Wendy A. Hallabeck of Malden, MA
Donna E. Hopkin-Pidgeon of Windham, NY
Theresa A. Laffey of Medina, OH
Elizabeth Spackman of Dumfries, VA
Elizabeth A. Weigand of Cincinnati, OH


Questions? Comments about this web site? Please email us.