Public Awareness

Elegida Elizabeth Yeampierre, Directora Ejecutiva de UPROSE, como Presidenta Honorífica de Preservation Week® 2022

CHICAGO—Preservation Week (Semana de la Preservación) se complace en anunciar que Elizabeth Yeampierre, directora ejecutiva de la organización comunitaria latinx UPROSE, con sede en Brooklyn, se desempeñará como Presidenta Honorífica de Preservation Week 2022. Yeampierre, abogada puertorriqueña de ascendencia africana e indígena, reconocida internacionalmente y líder de justicia ambiental y climática, es una firme defensora y pionera de la organización comunitaria para el logro del desarrollo justo y sostenible, la justicia ambiental y la adaptación climática liderada por la comunidad.

ALA encourages library workers to ascertain eligibility and apply for Public Service Loan Forgiveness waiver before October 31

PSLF Coalition webinar series begins February 2

WASHINGTON–The American Library Association (ALA) encourages library workers with federal student loans to review their eligibility under the U.S. Department of Education’s Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) program. Library workers in all contexts—school, public, academic and others—with federal student aid may be eligible for the waiver, known as the Temporary Expanded PSLF (TEPSLF).

'The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu,' 'A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance' receive 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) selects “The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu,” by Tom Lin, published by Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group, as the winner of the 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, and "A Little Devil in America: Notes in Praise of Black Performance," by Hanif Abdurraqib, published by Random House, a division of Penguin Random House LLC, as the winner of the 2022 Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction. The selections were announced at the Reference and User Servic

Submissions Now Open for the 2022 John Cotton Dana Award

The American Library Association (ALA) is now accepting submissions for the 2022 John Cotton Dana Award (JCD). The John Cotton Dana Award is one of the most prestigious awards given to libraries and honors outstanding library public relations. Up to eight $10,000 awards will be provided by the H.W. Wilson Foundation in 2022.

Actress and comedian Molly Shannon to serve as 2022 National Library Week honorary chair

CHICAGO—Molly Shannon, multiple Emmy-nominated and Spirit Award-winning actress, comedian, and legendary Saturday Night Live cast member, will help celebrate our nation’s libraries as the honorary chair of National Library Week, April 3–9, 2022. Shannon will highlight the numerous ways libraries serve to connect communities to books, resources, programs, and, of course, each other.  

Showcase Your Best Marketing Pieces by Applying for the Core PR Xchange Awards

Applications are open for the 2022 PR Xchange Awards! This competition recognizes the very best public relations materials produced by libraries in the past year. Entries are evaluated on content, originality, and design by a team of experts in public relations, graphic design, communications, and marketing. This competition is unique in the way it evaluates a library's individual promotional materials, not an entire marketing campaign.

Arlington librarian receives I Love My Librarian Award 

Yuliana Aceves recognized with national public service honor  

CCNY librarian receives I Love My Librarian Award

William Gibbons recognized with national public service honor