Awards (Scholarships & Grants)

2012 ALA scholarship recipients announced

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Scholarship Program has chosen the scholarship recipients for 2012-2013.  Recipients were selected for the following categories: General, Support Staff, and Specialty or Practice area, in children’s services, new media and federal librarianship.

ALA-APA announces financial assistance for LSSC candidates

CHICAGO — The Library Support Staff Certification (LSSC) Program announced today that it is offering $200 subsidies for 75 candidates to complete LSSC approved courses. LSSC is a national, voluntary certification program administered by the American Library Association-Allied Profession Association (ALA-APA).

Dollar General renews support of school libraries impacted by natural disaster

CHICAGO — The Dollar General Literacy Foundation has renewed its commitment to the American Association of School Librarians (AASL) and school libraries across the country by dedicating an additional $435,000 in grants to Beyond Words: The Dollar General School Library Relief Fund.  This donation brings the Dollar General Literacy Foundation’s support of rebuilding school libraries impacted by natural disaster to a total of $1.6 million.  In addition, the new round of grants offers two annual catastrophic awards and an increase in grant amounts.  Previous grants r

Beyond Words: The Dollar General School Library Relief Fund introduces catastrophic disaster relief grants

CHICAGO — The American Association of School Librarians (AASL) has introduced two new catastrophic disaster relief grants as part of Beyond Words: The Dollar General School Library Relief Fund.  The Beyond Words program, a collaboration between AASL and the National Education Association (NEA), is fully funded by the Dollar General Literacy Foundation. To date, the program has awarded more than $1 million dollars in grants to rebuild and expand library programs at more than 130 schools affected by natural disasters across the country.

EBSCO awards seven scholarships for ALA Annual

~Librarians earn funding to help them grow professionally, better serve their users, and advance the field of librarianship~   

Birmingham, Ala. —In co-sponsorship with the American Library Association (ALA), EBSCO awarded seven librarians scholarships of $1,000 each to attend the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif., June 21–26, 2012.

2012 Spectrum Scholarship winners announced

CHICAGO —This year, the American Library Association's (ALA) Office for Diversity is awarding a new round of 50 Spectrum Scholarships.

Freedom to Read Foundation announces eight Judith Krug Fund grants for Banned Books Week events

CHICAGO —The Freedom to Read Foundation (FTRF), via its Judith F. Krug Memorial Fund, has announced eight $1,000 grants to libraries, schools and other organizations in support of Banned Books Week events.  Banned Books Week, which will take place Sept. 30­–Oct. 6, 2012, celebrates the freedom to access information, while drawing attention to the harms of censorship.

Jones, Carrillo, Hsue winners of 2012 LITA scholarships

CHICAGO —The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association, has announced the winners of annual scholarships it sponsors jointly with three organizations:  Baker & Taylor,  LSSI and OCLC, Inc.   These scholarships are for master’s level study, with an emphasis on library technology and/or automation, at a library school program accredited by the American Library Association.

LITA scholarships in library and information science

CHICAGO —The Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division of the American Library Association, is accepting applications for three scholarships:

ALSC announces Bound to Stay Bound Books, Melcher Scholarship winners

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) announced six scholarship winners for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Four winners were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books Scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $7,000 in scholarship aid for the 2012-13 academic year. The four recipients are: Michelle Ahern, Bethpage, N.Y., Rebecca Baker, Frankfort, Ky., Micaela Sanchez, Greeley, Colo., and Lisa Jordan, Longmont, Colo.