Awards (Professional Recognition)

Carnegie Whitney Grant 2022 Award winners

CHICAGO — The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States. 

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2022 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

Carol Choi

Hubbard Public Library 'Toy Lending Library' and the Children’s Room Team winner of ALA’s Ernest A. DiMattia Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession

CHICAGO — Hubbard (Ohio) Public Library's “Toy Lending Library” and the Children’s Room Team, Mary Anne Russo, Heather Phibbs, Dana Tirabassi and Amanda Balla, have earned ALA’s 2022 Ernest A. DiMattia Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession. The award, supported by the DiMattia Family, recognizes a librarian or library for demonstrating leadership in anticipating emerging trends in services, products and technologies that will enhance the library’s position in its community.

ALA Announces 2022 L. Ray Patterson Award Winner James G. Neal

WASHINGTON, D.C.—The American Library Association (ALA) Public Policy and Advocacy Office today named James G. “Jim” Neal, university librarian emeritus of Columbia University, winner of the 2022 L. Ray Patterson Copyright Award.  

IFRT awards 2022 Hodges Award to two Tennessee Organizations

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table's Coalition Building Committee will award the 2022 Gerald Hodges Intellectual Freedom Chapter Relations Award to the Tennessee Library Association (TLA) and the Tennessee Association of School Librarians (TASL). 

New ALA endowment honoring Satia Marshall Orange to benefit Spectrum Scholarship Program

CHICAGO – From 1997 to 2009, Satia Marshall Orange guided what is now the American Library Association’s (ALA) Office for Diversity, Literacy and Outreach Services (ODLOS), working on behalf of underserved populations and promoting diversity within the field of librarianship.

Now, on the occasion of her 80th birthday, her work is being honored with the establishment of the Satia Marshall Orange Spectrum Scholarship Endowment Fund.

Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada receives 2022 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada, adult services assistant manager, Palos Verdes Library District, Rolling Hills Estates, California as the recipient of the 2022 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. Pelayo-Lozada is executive director of the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association and president-elect of the American Library Association (2022-23 President). She is a determined advocate for issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion, inspiring those around her.

Apply to host the 2023 Children’s Literature Lecture with Bryan Collier

CHICAGO — ALSC and the 2023 Children’s Literature Lecture Committee are proud to announce the opening of the application to host the 2023 event featuring award-winning author/illustrator, Bryan Collier.

“Asian American History IS American History” receives AASL Roald Dahl's Miss Honey Social Justice Award

CHICAGO – The “Asian American History IS American History” project from Dunwoody Elementary School in Dunwoody, Georgia, is the recipient of the 2022 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Roald Dahl's Miss Honey Social Justice Award. Sponsored by Penguin Random House, the Roald Dahl Award recognizes collaboration between school librarians and teachers in the instruction of social justice using school library resources.

Samantha Mora receives AASL Innovative Reading Grant

CHICAGO – Samantha Mora, teacher librarian at Wood River Middle School in Hailey, Idaho, is the recipient of the 2022 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Innovative Reading Grant. Sponsored by Capstone, the $2,500 grant supports the planning and implementation of a unique and innovative program for children that motivates and encourages reading, especially with struggling readers. 

FReadom Fighters receives AASL Intellectual Freedom Award

CHICAGO – FReadom Fighters, started by a group of Texas school librarians, Becky Calzada, Carolyn Foote, and Nancy Jo Lambert, is the recipient of the 2022 American Association of School Librarians’ (AASL) Intellectual Freedom Award. Established in 1982 and sponsored by ProQuest, the award is given for upholding the principles of intellectual freedom as set forth by AASL and ALA.