Governance Office

ALA Statement on Executive Order on Combating Race and Sex Stereotyping

CHICAGO - On September 22, the White House issued its Executive Order On Combating Race And Sex Stereotyping, prohibiting federal employees, contractors, and grant recipients from discussing or considering concepts such as critical race theory and white privilege and discouraging diversity education and training.

ALA Nominating Committee Councilors-at-Large candidates announced

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) Nominating Committee annually nominate candidates from among the general membership for members-at-large of Council. Individuals who are not selected by the Nominating Committee may run for office by petition.

Run for ALA office by filing an electronic petition

CHICAGO - Individuals who were not selected by the ALA Nominating Committee may run for office by petition. Members who are interested in running by petition may do so by completing an e-petition form:

Mark your calendars for 2020 Fall virtual ALA Council meetings

CHICAGO – This Fall, you can have a front row seat as the American Library Association (ALA) Council discusses issues that will have long-range impact on the association.

ALA Council will hold the first of its two Fall virtual council meetings on Friday, Sept. 18. The meeting, which lasts from noon – 2 p.m. Central time, can be accessed by visiting .

Mario M. González, Rhea B. Lawson selected to serve as ALA Endowment Fund Trustees

CHICAGO – Mario M. González, Director of the Passaic (NJ) Public Library and Rhea B. Lawson, Director of the Houston Public Library, have been selected to serve as the American Library Association’s (ALA) newest Endowment Trustees.  The ALA Executive Board made these selections during their meeting at the 2020 Virtual Annual Conference at June 30, 2020. The three-year terms of these newly selected trustees will begin immediately.

ALA takes responsibility for past racism, pledges a more equitable association

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) accepts and acknowledges its role in upholding unjust systems of racism and discrimination against Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) within the association and the profession.

We recognize that the founding of our Association was not built on inclusion and equity, but instead was built on systemic racism and discrimination in many forms. We also recognize the hurt and harm done to BIPOC library workers and communities due to these racist structures.

ALA statement condemning police violence against BIPOC, protesters and journalists

CHICAGO — The American Library Association is deeply saddened by the death of George Floyd at the hands of the Minneapolis Police Department, as well as the killings by police or vigilantes of Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, Ahmaud Arbery, and far too many others. We are in solidarity with the statements of BCALA and APALA, and affirm our earlier statement condemning violence and racism towards Black people, Indigenous people and all people of color.1 2 3

The Roxbury Public Library receives the Gale, A Cengage Company Financial Development Award

CHICAGO — The Roxbury Public Library, Succasunna, New Jersey, is the recipient of the 2020 American Library Association Gale, A Cengage Company Financial Development Award.

Nora Wiltse receives the American Library Association 2020 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce Nora Wiltse, teacher-librarian at John C. Coonley Elementary School, as the recipient of the 2020 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. Ms. Wiltse, a leading advocate for librarians and libraries in the Chicago Public Schools, devotes her time and talent and inspires others to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship.

Alice Knapp, president of the Ferguson Library, wins 2020 Sullivan Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce the 2020 Peggy Sullivan Award for Public Library Administrators Supporting Services to Children was awarded to Alice Knapp, president of the Ferguson Library (Stamford, Connecticut).  The Sullivan Award is presented annually to an individual in a library administrator role who has shown exceptional understanding and support of public library service to children.  With the cancellation of the ALA Annual Conference, the award will be presented at the Award Ceremony and Reception Sunday, Jan.