Governance Office

Nominating committee continues to seek candidates

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) 2013 Nominating Committee reminds all interested ALA members that the deadline for completing the candidate biographical form is quickly approaching – the form will close on Aug. 17.  The committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2013 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect, ALA treasurer and councilor-at-large.

EBSCO awards seven scholarships for ALA Annual

~Librarians earn funding to help them grow professionally, better serve their users, and advance the field of librarianship~   

Birmingham, Ala. —In co-sponsorship with the American Library Association (ALA), EBSCO awarded seven librarians scholarships of $1,000 each to attend the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif., June 21–26, 2012.

Honorary member nominations open

CHICAGO — Nominations are being accepted for ALA honorary membership, the association’s highest honor, which is bestowed on living citizens of any country whose contributions to librarianship or a closely related field are so outstanding that they are of significant and lasting importance to the whole field of library service.

Nominating committee seeks candidates

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) 2013 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2013 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect, ALA treasurer and councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for president-elect, two candidates to run for treasurer and no fewer than 50 candidates for the 33 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2013 spring election.

ALA councilors elected

CHICAGO — Thirty-three members have been elected as councilors-at-large on the Council of the American Library Association (ALA) for three-year terms. The terms begin at the conclusion of the 2012 ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim, Calif. and extend through the end of the 2015 ALA Annual Conference in San Francisco.

The 2012 - 2015 Councilors-at-Large are:

Stripling wins 2013-14 ALA presidency

CHICAGO — Barbara K. Stripling, assistant professor of practice at Syracuse University in Syracuse, N.Y., has been elected to the 2013-14 presidency of the American Library Association (ALA).

Stripling defeated Gina J. Millsap, chief executive officer of the Topeka and Shawnee County Public Library in Topeka, Kan.

Stripling received 6,272 votes, while Millsap received 4,486 votes.

'Pacific Glory' wins the W.Y. Boyd Literary Award

CHICAGO — “Pacific Glory” by P.T. Deutermann, published by St. Martin’s Press, is the winner of the 2012 W. Y. Boyd Literary Award “for Excellence in Military Fiction.”

The W. Y. Boyd Literary Novel Award honors the best fiction set in a period when the United States was at war. The $5,000 award and citation, donated by author W.Y. Boyd II, recognizes the service of American veterans and encourages the writing and publishing of outstanding war-related fiction.

Virginia Beach (Va.) Public Library wins the H.W. Wilson Library Staff Development Grant

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) has chosen the Virginia Beach (Va.) Public Library as the winner of the 2012 H.W. Wilson Staff Development Grant, for its innovative concept of a hands-on staff training program entitled “Petting Zoo.” 

ALA election closes April 27

CHICAGO — The 2012 ALA election will close at 11:59 p.m.  CDT on Friday, April 27. If you have not yet cast your vote, please do so! If you have “parked” your ballot (started but not yet completed), please return to complete the process. In the event you cannot locate the email with your voting credentials, the ALA Member and Customer Service Department can help you. Contact the department at