Governance Office

ALA announces slate of petition council candidates

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) announces that the following individuals have filed petitions for the Councilor-at-Large position on the ALA Council for the 2023 ALA Election:

ALA Nominating Committee announces councilors-at-large candidates

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) has announced the names of the 61 candidates who are running for a total of 39 at-large seats on the ALA Council. That number includes 32 councilor-at-large seats for the 2023-2026 term, one councilor at-large seat to serve until 2025, five councilor at-large seats to serve until 2024, and one councilor at-large seat to serve until 2023.

The following candidates were accepted by the Nominating Committee (listed alphabetically by last name):


Richard E. Ashby, Jr.

Hohl, Suess Seek American Library Association Presidency for 2024-25 Term

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Nominating Committee has selected two nominees to contend in the upcoming election for ALA president. The candidates vying for the 2024-25 term are Cindy Hohl, director of policy analysis and operational support at Kansas City Public Library (Missouri), and Eric D. Suess, director of Marshall Public Library (Idaho).

American Library Association to Host Inaugural Governance Institute at 2023 LibLearnX

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) will host its first-ever ALA Governance Institute during the 2023 LibLearnX (LLX) in New Orleans, La. Held on Friday, January 27 from 8 a.m. to noon, this new program will provide insights into critical issues related to effective governance, beginning with a focus on strategic communications and financial analysis and stewardship in workshops available exclusively to LLX registrants.

Run for ALA President-elect or Councilor-at-Large by petition

ALA members may run for ALA office by petition for the position of ALA President-elect or ALA Councilor at Large. Individuals who are interested in running by petition or were not selected by the ALA Nominating Committee may run for office by filing an electronic petition. The ALA Nominating Committee will begin notifying nominated candidates by the end of October 2022.

Members who are interested in running by petition may do so by completing an e-petition form:

American Library Association (ALA) Condemns Proposed State Legislation Limiting Access to Information on Reproductive Health

The Executive Board of the American Library Association (ALA) issued the following statement in response to proposed state legislation that would censor library materials or put at risk library workers who provide access to information, including information on abortion or any aspect of reproductive health care.

Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada receives 2022 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is pleased to announce Lessa Kanani’opua Pelayo-Lozada, adult services assistant manager, Palos Verdes Library District, Rolling Hills Estates, California as the recipient of the 2022 Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award. Pelayo-Lozada is executive director of the Asian Pacific American Librarians Association and president-elect of the American Library Association (2022-23 President). She is a determined advocate for issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion, inspiring those around her.

Hubbard Public Library 'Toy Lending Library' and the Children’s Room Team winner of ALA’s Ernest A. DiMattia Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession

CHICAGO — Hubbard (Ohio) Public Library's “Toy Lending Library” and the Children’s Room Team, Mary Anne Russo, Heather Phibbs, Dana Tirabassi and Amanda Balla, have earned ALA’s 2022 Ernest A. DiMattia Award for Innovation and Service to Community and Profession. The award, supported by the DiMattia Family, recognizes a librarian or library for demonstrating leadership in anticipating emerging trends in services, products and technologies that will enhance the library’s position in its community.

Stratton named ALA parliamentarian

CHICAGO — Adrian Stratton, president of the New York Association of Parliamentarians, has accepted the role of American Library Association (ALA) parliamentarian.

Eli Mina, who has served as ALA’s parliamentarian for 20 years, will be retiring at the adjournment of the 2022 Annual Conference in Washington DC, June 23-28, 2022. Stratton will be stepping into this role thereafter.

ALA employs a parliamentarian who is not a member of the association for the Council and Membership meetings of the Association.