Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures (CORE)

Core to Honor Award Winners at 2022 ALA Annual Conference

Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures is immensely pleased to be honoring its award winners at the 2022 ALA Annual Conference and Exhibition. There is incredible talent in the library world and it is a privilege to help highlight it. The complete list of Core award ceremonies and presentations is below. We hope to see you there!

Core President's Program
Saturday, June 25th, 2022, 4:00-5:30 p.m.
Location: Marriott Marquis, Marquis Ballroom Salon 6-10

2022 PR Xchange Award Winners Announced

The PR Xchange Committee is delighted to announce the winners of this year's PR Xchange Awards Competition. This year, we have awarded 20 print winners and 24 electronic winners. Congratulations to those libraries! The PR Xchange Committee is charged with coordinating the annual awards competition, under the direction of the Awards and Scholarships Subcommittee of Core, a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

Judith P. Cannan Awarded 2022 Margaret Mann Citation

Judith P. Cannan has been selected as the recipient of the 2022 Margaret Mann Citation, sponsored by OCLC and Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures. She is the Chief of the Policy, Training, and Cooperative Programs Division at the Library of Congress, and is a respected leader, innovator, mentor, and trailblazer. She has made significant contributions to the library profession during a career that has spanned more than 50 years and influenced generations of cataloging practitioners.

Core Webinar: Core New Members Interest Group Cover Letter Workshop

CHICAGO—Search committees spend hours digging through cover letters and curriculum vitaes (CVs) to see if experience matches qualifications because applicants have long been told that the cover letter should be a narrative document that explains their qualifications.

Five projects receive 2022 AIA/ALA Library Building Award

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) and the American Library Association (ALA) are awarding five libraries with the 2022 AIA/ALA Library Building Award for excellence in architectural design.

Award recipients must demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place, purpose, ecology, environmental sustainability, and history. This year’s AIA/ALA Library Building Award recipients, selected by a seven-person jury, exemplify these qualities.

2022 AIA/ALA Library Building Awards Recipients

Core President's Program features Tamar Evangelestia-Dougherty

CHICAGOJoin Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures on Saturday, June 25 at 4 pm ET during ALA Annual for the Core President's Program featuring Tamar Evangelestia-Dougherty, Director of the Smithsonian Libraries and Archives. The recently integrated Smithsonian Libraries and Archives contains nearly 3 million library volumes and over 44,000 cubic feet

Help create a sustainable future by preserving climate stories during Preservation Week, April 24-30

CHICAGO — We can learn how to create a sustainable future by preserving the past. As our nation’s libraries celebrate Preservation Week, April 24 – 30, it is more important than ever to nurture the stories of those on the front lines fighting to save our planet.

This year’s Preservation Week theme is "Preservation in the Face of Climate Change." Celebrating the concept of climate resiliency, Preservation Week 2022 will highlight the effects of climate change on our shared cultural heritage materials.

Libraries, museums, archives celebrate Preservation Week, April 24-30

CHICAGO - During Preservation Week, libraries will be raising awareness of the role they play in providing preservation education and information.

Announcing the 2022 Core Election Results

CHICAGO—Wendy Tressler, Director of Capital Projects and Project Management at the Columbus Metropolitan Library, has been elected President-Elect of Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures. Her three-year term begins at the conclusion of the 2022 ALA Annual Conference and ends at the conclusion of the 2025 ALA Annual Conference. She will serve one year each as President-Elect, President and Immediate Past-President.