Hohl, Suess Seek American Library Association Presidency for 2024-25 Term

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Nominating Committee has selected two nominees to contend in the upcoming election for ALA president. The candidates vying for the 2024-25 term are Cindy Hohl, director of policy analysis and operational support at Kansas City Public Library (Missouri), and Eric D. Suess, director of Marshall Public Library (Idaho).

American Library Association (ALA) Condemns Proposed State Legislation Limiting Access to Information on Reproductive Health

The Executive Board of the American Library Association (ALA) issued the following statement in response to proposed state legislation that would censor library materials or put at risk library workers who provide access to information, including information on abortion or any aspect of reproductive health care.

ALA Condemns Destruction of Libraries, Schools, and Cultural Institutions in Ukraine

CHICAGO -- On June 25, 2022, the American Library Association (ALA) Council passed a resolution condemning the enormous damage and destruction of Ukrainian cultural resources resulting from the continued occupation of Ukraine by the Russian Federation government.

Steve Kelley Elected 2023-24 Chair of Core's Metadata & Collections Section

Steve Kelley has been elected Chair-elect of the Core Metadata & Collections Section for 2022-23. He will become Chair of the Section in July 2023 and continue as Past Chair for one year starting July 2024. Kelley is the the Head of Continuing Resources and Database Management at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University, where  he has worked since 2002.

Stratton named ALA parliamentarian

CHICAGO — Adrian Stratton, president of the New York Association of Parliamentarians, has accepted the role of American Library Association (ALA) parliamentarian.

Eli Mina, who has served as ALA’s parliamentarian for 20 years, will be retiring at the adjournment of the 2022 Annual Conference in Washington DC, June 23-28, 2022. Stratton will be stepping into this role thereafter.

ALA employs a parliamentarian who is not a member of the association for the Council and Membership meetings of the Association.

Deborah Doyle elected 2023-2024 United for Libraries president

EXTON, Pennsylvania — Deborah Doyle, chair of the Sonoma County (California) Library Commission, has been elected 2023-2024 United for Libraries President. Doyle will serve as president-elect under 2022-2023 United for Libraries President Dr. Gordon Baker.

Drabinski wins 2023-2024 ALA presidency

CHICAGO — Emily Drabinski, interim chief librarian at The Graduate Center, City University of New York has been elected 2022-2023 president-elect of the American Library Association (ALA).

Drabinski received 5,410 votes, while her opponent, Kelvin Watson, executive director of the Las Vegas-Clark County Library District received 4,622 votes.

Upon learning the outcome of the election, Drabinski provided the following statement:

Hepburn elected 2022-2025 ALA treasurer

CHICAGO — Peter Hepburn, head librarian at the College of the Canyons in Santa Clarita, California, has been elected treasurer of the American Library Association (ALA) for 2022–2025.

Hepburn received 8,947 votes in the uncontested election.

ALA elections now open – cast your vote today!

CHICAGO — American Library Association (ALA) election polls are now open! ALA members are encouraged to cast a digital ballot to vote for association-wide leadership that will shape the future and direction of the association. ALA’s annual election will close on Wednesday, April 6, 2022. 

ALA stands with Ukrainian library community

CHICAGO — The American Library Association and its divisions support our Ukrainian colleagues and will work with the global library community to answer the appeal from the Ukrainian Library Association to provide accurate information as a means to support democracy and freedom of expression.