Seeking Nominations for the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship

For Immediate Release
Tue, 01/02/2024


Sarah Nalepa

Governance Program Coordinator



CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is seeking nominations for the Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship. The Ken Haycock Award for Promoting Librarianship was established in 2004 and recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to the public recognition and appreciation of librarianship through professional performance, teaching or writing.   Former award recipients include Nancy Kranich (2015), former ALA president; Wendy Newman (2011), former Canadian Library Association president; Michael Gorman (2010), former American Library Association president; and Mary Dempsey (2007), former Chicago library commissioner.  The award includes $1,000 and a gold-framed citation. 

The online application form can be found at  and must be submitted to ALA by February 1, 2024.  

For additional information, contact:

Sarah Nalepa,

Governance Program Coordinator