ALA Medal of Excellence Call for Nominations

For Immediate Release
Tue, 01/02/2024


Sarah Nalepa

Governance Program Coordinator



CHICAGO — Every year the American Library Association honors a creative leader in library management, training, cataloging and classification, and the tools and techniques of librarianship with the ALA Medal of Excellence.  The award consists of $2,000, bronzed medal and a 24k gold-framed citation of achievement, which is given at ALA Annual Conference Awards Ceremony.

Beginning in 1953, this award was know as the Dewey Medal, and was given to such luminaries in the library industry as June Garcia (2019), Carla Hayden (2017) Hwa-Wei Lee (2015) and James Neal (2009).  

If you know a librarian who:

  • Demonstrates sustained leadership
  • Commitment to the library profession
  • Creates partnerships to provide innovative services or create unique training opportunities
  • Program or initiative that breaks new ground in library service, significantly benefits employees, library patrons, library operations, or the community-at-large and can be replicated in other settings 

Please nominate them through the online application and include all supporting materials as attachments.  The deadline for this award is February 1, 2024.

We would like to thank OCLC for their sponsorship of this award.