ALSC Supports 2023 Bound to Stay Bound, Melcher Scholarships

For Immediate Release
Wed, 07/26/2023


Ana Cackley

Awards Coordinator


CHICAGO – The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) has awarded a total of 6 students the Bound to Stay Bound and Melcher Scholarships for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Four recipients were awarded the Bound to Stay Bound Books scholarship, which is made possible by Bound to Stay Bound Books, Inc. All four recipients will receive $8,000 in scholarship aid for the 2023-2024 academic year. The four recipients are Jennifer Haydysch, attending University of Wisconsin-Madison; Nicole Gillihan, attending University of Alabama; Jerriana Roland, attending University of North Carolina at Greensboro; and Tamara Lynn Varonos, attending Northeastern State University.

Haydysch is the Assistant Head of Mobile Services for the Warren-Newport Public Library in Gurnee, Illinois. Gillihan is currently an Associate Librarian for the Meridian Library District in Meridian, Idaho. Roland is the Media Coordinator for Paw Creek Elementary School, located in Charlotte, North Carolina. Varonos is a librarian at Sequoyah Middle School in Claremore, Oklahoma.

Two students were awarded a Frederic G. Melcher Scholarship, which is made possible by contributions from librarians, professionals and others associated with the field of children’s literature. Each award provides $8,000 in scholarship aid for the 2023-2024 academic year. Karina Dominguez is a Messenger Clerk at the Los Angeles Public Library in Los Angeles, California, and she is attending San Jose State University. Naomi Pickens is currently the Children’s Assistant at Spartanburg County Libraries in Spartanburg, South Carolina, and she is attending North Carolina Central University.

Each year, ALSC provides the Bound to Stay Bound Books and Melcher Scholarships to help advance the profession of children’s librarianship. Recipients must complete their academic work at an ALA-accredited institution and demonstrate a commitment to library service to children. Recipients are also strongly encouraged to accept or hold positions after graduation in the field of library service to children for at least one year.

“ALSC congratulates these scholarship recipients and commends them for their dedication to providing enriching library services for children.” says 2023-2024 ALSC President, Dr. Jonda C. McNair. “Many thanks to Bound to Stay Bound Books and the numerous librarians and other professionals in the field of children’s literature for their contributions.”

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is driven by approximately 4,000 members dedicated to the support and enrichment of library service to children. Our members include youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty. ALSC supports its members in engaging communities to build healthy, successful futures for all children. To learn more about ALSC, visit ALSC’s website at

The ALSC Professional Recognition and Scholarships Committee, charged with selecting ALSC’s scholars each year, include: Elizabeth A. Burns, Rachel Fryd, Susan Dunn, Susan Kusel, Lourdes Montes, Jacqueline J. Partch, Joe Prince, and Mary Schreiber.