For immediate release | April 14, 2023

Yvette Garcia Elected 2024-2025 YALSA President

CHICAGO — Yvette Garcia, Assistant Director, Sulzer Regional Library, at the Chicago Public Library, has been elected as YALSA’s 2024 division president-elect. Garcia will begin her three-year term as president-elect in July of 2023, becoming president starting in July of 2024, and remain active on the board for one year as past president in 2025.

"I am both humbled and excited by the opportunity to serve and support YASLA members and the teens they serve,” said Garcia.

Highlights of Garcia’s involvement in YALSA include:

  • Serving on the Education Advisory Committee
  • Serving on the Financial Advancement Committee
  • Serving on the Division and Membership Promotion Committee

In addition to the president-elect position, YALSA members have also elected Meaghan Darling as Fiscal Officer, and both Katrina Ortega and Kim Dare as Directors-at-Large. All three positions will serve three-year terms.

Learn more about YALSA elections at

About the Young Adult Library Services Association

The mission of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) is to support library staff in alleviating the challenges teens face, and in putting all teens ‒ especially those with the greatest needs ‒ on the path to successful and fulfilling lives. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to or contact the YALSA office by phone, 800-545-2433, ext. 4390; or e-mail:

About the American Library Association

The American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, the ALA has been the trusted voice for academic, public, school, government and special libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit


LaMoya Burks

Interim Executive Director

Young Adult Library Services Association