ALA Announces 2024 Carnegie Committee

For Immediate Release
Mon, 04/24/2023


Grace Rosean

Marketing Specialist


The 2024 selection committee is starting work on choosing the longlist for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The 2024 committee includes the following experts who work closely with adult readers.

  • Aryssa Damron (chair), Librarian, District of Columbia Public Library
  • Montoya Barker, Special Collections Librarian, Indianapolis (Ind.) Public Library
  • Lillian Dabney, Adult Services Librarian, Seattle (Wash.) Athenaeum
  • Marlene Harris, Reviewer, Reading Reality LLC
  • Audrey I-Wei Huang, Bookseller, Belmont Books in Belmont, Massachusetts
  • Laurie Unger Skinner, Librarian, Vernon Hills, Illinois
  • Hana Zittel, Community Outreach Manager, Denver (Colo.) Public Library

The 2024 longlist will be announced in October 2023, followed in November by the six-title shortlist—three each in fiction and nonfiction. The two winning titles will be revealed at the RUSA Book and Media Awards event during the American Library Association‘s (ALA) LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience in Baltimore on January 21, 2024. The celebratory event, including presentations by the winners and a featured speaker, will take place at the 2024 ALA Annual Conference in June 2024 in San Diego.

The upcoming 2023 celebratory event, sponsored by NoveList, will take place on Saturday, June 24, 2023, from 7 p.m. – 10 p.m. during ALA’s 2023 Annual Conference in Chicago. Attendees will hear from fiction winner Julie Otsuka (The Swimmers; Alfred A. Knopf, a division of Penguin Random House, LLC) and nonfiction winner Ed Yong (An Immense World: How Animal Senses Reveal the Hidden Realms Around Us; Random House, a division of Penguin Random House LLC) as well as a keynote speaker, the acclaimed novelist and poet Chris Abani, author most recently of the poetry collection Smoking the Bible, published by Copper Canyon Press.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals were established in 2012 by ALA and Carnegie Corporation of New York to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. in the previous year. They are the first single-book awards for adult titles given by ALA and are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA and supported by NoveList.

For more information and to see past longlists, shortlists, and winners, visit Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.