Dr. Claudette McLinn is the 2023 Recipient of the Coretta Scott King -Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

For Immediate Release
Mon, 01/30/2023


ALA Media Relations

Communications and Marketing Office

American Library Association


NEW ORLEANS – Dr. Claudette McLinn is the recipient of the 2023 Coretta Scott King -Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement. The award was announced today during the ALA’s LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience held Jan. 27-30, in New Orleans. 

“Dr. McLinn, a distinguished practitioner whose substantial contributions and active engagement as an advocate and champion of African American children’s literature are evident in the extraordinary impact of her work,” said Awards Committee Chair Carolyn L. Garnes.

Dr. Claudette McLinn is the founder and executive director of the Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature (CSMCL). She is a retired district supervising librarian for the Los Angeles Unified School District with over 34 years of experience, a former bookseller and a much sought-after book award juror/presenter.

The Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement is named in memory of beloved children’s author Virginia Hamilton. The annual award is presented in odd years (i.e., 2023, 2025, 2027) to a practitioner for substantial contributions through active engagement with youth using award-winning African American literature for children and/or young adults, via implementation of reading and reading related activities/programs. The recipient may be a public librarian, academic librarian, school librarian (public or private), an educator (pre-K to 12th grade or higher education) or youth literature advocate whose vocation, work, volunteer service or ongoing promotion of books with and/or on behalf of youth is significant and sustained. 

In even years (i.e., 2024, 2026, 2028), the award is presented to an African American author, illustrator or author/illustrator for a body of his or her published books for children and/or young adults, and who has made a significant and lasting literary contribution. 

Virginia Hamilton was an award-winning author of children's books. She wrote more than 35 books throughout her career, including “M. C. Higgins, the Great,” for which she won the 1975 Newbery Medal. During her lifetime, Hamilton received numerous awards including the Coretta Scott King Book Award, the Edgar Allan Poe Award, the Atlanta Globe-Horn Book Award, and the Hans Christian Andersen Award. 

Members of the 2023 Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement Award Committee are: Chair Carolyn L. Garnes, Atlanta, Georgia; Dr. Sujin Bernadette Huggins, Dominican University, River Forest, Illinois; Chrystal Carr Jeter, Willoughby-Eastlake Public Library, Willoughby Hills, Ohio, Retired; Dr. Marguerite Worth Penick, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh; and Emma K. McNamara, The Ohio State University, Columbus and the University of the District of Columbia, Washington, D.C.

For more information on the Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit www.ala.org/yma.


American Library Association (ALA) is the foremost national organization providing resources to inspire library and information professionals to transform their communities through essential programs and services. For more than 140 years, ALA has been the trusted voice for libraries, advocating for the profession and the library’s role in enhancing learning and ensuring access to information for all. For more information, visit ala.org.