Intellectual Freedom Round Table seeks nominations for the Eli M. Oboler Award

For Immediate Release
Wed, 10/12/2022


Karen Gianni

Program Coordinator

Office of Intellectual Freedom

CHICAGO - The Intellectual Freedom Round Table is seeking nominations for the 2023 Eli M. Obloer Memorial Award. IFRT began giving the award on an annual basis last year. 

The Oboler Award honors journal articles in even number years (2022, 2024, etc.) and honors books in odd number years (2023, 2025, etc.) The award honors a literary work or series of works in the area of intellectual freedom. This can include matters of ethical, political, or social concerns related to intellectual freedom. The book should have been published on the local, state, or national level in English or English translation in the 2021 or 2022 calendar years up through the end of December 2022. 

The award is $500 and a certificate which is  presented at the ALA Annual Conference each year.

For more information on criteria of the award, past recipients, or to submit a nomination please visit the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award website.

Members of the Eli M. Oboler Memorial Award Committee include: Chair, Stephanie Barnaby, Northeastern University Library; Michael Blackwell, St Mary's County Library; Molly Dettmann, Norman North High School; Michael D. Kirby, Kingsborough Community College; and Mara Zonderman, Westhampton Free Library.

About the Intellectual Freedom Round Table

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians; serves as a channel of communications on intellectual freedom matters; promotes a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom; promotes a greater feeling of responsibility in the implementation of ALA policies on intellectual freedom. @IFRT_ALA