Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) seeks nominations for the John Phillip Immroth Award

For Immediate Release
Wed, 10/12/2022


Karen Gianni

Program Coordinator

Office of Intellectual Freedom

CHICAGO - The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) is accepting nominations for the 2023 John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award. This award, presented annually, honors notable contributions to intellectual freedom and demonstrations of personal courage in defense of freedom of expression by a living individual, group, or organization. The award consists of a citation and $500.

 IFRT will present the award during the 2023 ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. It will be a special honor this year as we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table, recognizing John Phillip Immroth who was instrumental in the round table's organization and founding.

The award is sponsored by the Intellectual Freedom Round Table of the American Library Association (ALA). The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2022. 

Visit the John Phillip Immroth Memorial Award page for more information and to submit nominations.

Members of the John Phillip Immroth Award Committee include: Chair, Wanda Mae Huffaker, Sarah Beverly Burchart, Michael D. Kirby, Dr. Jennifer E. Steele

About the Intellectual Freedom Round Table

The Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT) provides a forum for the discussion of activities, programs and problems in intellectual freedom of libraries and librarians; serves as a channel of communications on intellectual freedom matters; promotes a greater opportunity for involvement among the members of the ALA in defense of intellectual freedom; promotes a greater feeling of responsibility in the implementation of ALA policies on intellectual freedom. @IFRT_ALA