ALA Announces 2023 Carnegie Selection Committee

For Immediate Release
Thu, 05/19/2022


Grace Rosean

Marketing Specialist


CHICAGO- The 2023 selection committee is starting work on choosing the longlist for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The 2023 committee includes the following experts who work closely with adult readers:

Stephen Sposato (chair) is the Content Curation Manager for Chicago Public Library.

Clancey D'Isa is the Director of Strategy and Development for the Seminary Co-op Bookstores (Chicago), the first not-for-profit bookstores with bookselling as a mission.

Margaret Quamme is a freelance journalist and Booklist reviewer based in Lancaster, Ohio.

Stephanie Sendaula is a Programming and Outreach Specialist at LibraryLinkNJ in Trenton, NJ.

Becky Spratford is a Reader's Advisory Specialist and Booklist reviewer based in Chicagoland. She runs the critically acclaimed blog, RA for All.

Sarah Barbara Watstein serves as Dean, Lemieux Library and McGoldrick Learning Commons at Seattle University, and has served on numerous ALA and RUSA book, print, and media award committees during her more than 40-year career in libraries.

Mary Callaghan "Cal" Zunt is a librarian in Cleveland, Ohio. Previously she has served as Chair of ALA's Stonewall Book Award and a several-term member of the Notable Books Council.

The 2023 longlist will be announced in October 2022, followed in November by the six-title shortlist—three each in fiction and nonfiction. The two winning titles will be revealed at the RUSA Book and Media Awards event during ALA‘s LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience (LLX) in New Orleans on January 29, 2023. The celebratory event, including presentations by the winners and a featured speaker, will take place at the 2023 ALA Annual Conference in June 2023 in Chicago.

The upcoming 2022 celebratory event, sponsored by NoveList, will take place on Saturday, June 25, 2022, from 8 p.m. – 10 p.m. during ALA’s 2022 Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. Attendees will hear from fiction winner Tom Lin (The Thousand Crimes of Ming Tsu; Little, Brown and Company, a division of Hachette Book Group) and nonfiction winner Hanif Abdurraqib (A Little Devil in America: In Praise of Black Performance; Random House, a division of Penguin Random House LLC) as well as keynote speaker Congressman Jamie Raskin of Maryland, the author of Unthinkable: Trauma, Truth, and the Trials of American Democracy (HarperCollins Publishers).

The Andrew Carnegie Medals were established in 2012 by the American Library Association and Carnegie Corporation of New York to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. in the previous year. They are the first single-book awards for adult titles given by ALA and are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA and supported by NoveList.

For more information and to see past longlists, shortlists, and winners, visit Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.