Grace Lin wins 2022 Children’s Literature Legacy Award

For Immediate Release
Mon, 01/24/2022


Communications and Marketing Office

ALA Media Relations


CHICAGO – Grace Lin is the winner of the 2022 Children’s Literature Legacy Award honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a significant and lasting contribution to literature for children. Her numerous works include “The Ugly Vegetables” (Charlesbridge, 1999) and “The Year of the Dog” (Little, Brown and Company, 2006).

The award was announced today, during the American Library Association’s (ALA) LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience, held virtually January 21 - 24.  The award is administered annually by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the ALA. 

“With her exuberant art and storytelling, Lin creates unforgettable books that engage all children, while incorporating elements of her own life and heritage,” said Children’s Literature Legacy Award Committee Chair Brian E. Wilson.

Growing up in Upstate New York, Lin started creating art and writing stories at a young age. She writes and speaks often about loving books as a child, but not seeing herself represented on the pages. She received her B.F.A. from the Rhode Island School of Design in 1996. Since the publication of her first book, “The Ugly Vegetables,” in 1999, Lin has written and/or illustrated more than 40 books for children, including collaborations with other authors. She curated the “Asians, Everyday” online exhibition for the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art in 2021. Lin lives in Florence, Massachusetts. 

Lin’s many awards include a 2010 Newbery Honor for “Where the Mountain Meets the Moon,” a 2011 Geisel Honor for “Ling & Ting: Not Exactly the Same,” and a 2019 Caldecott Honor for “A Big Mooncake for Little Star” (all published by Little, Brown and Company). In addition, Lin’s works have received a Chinese American Librarians Assocation Annual Best Book Award, and appeared on several ALSC Notable Children’s Books lists. In 2016, President Obama’s office recognized her as a Champion of Change for Asian American and Pacific Islander Art and Storytelling.

Over the years, Lin has created works for a wide range of ages, including board books, picture books, easy readers, realistic autobiographical novels, middle grade fantasy adventures, and non-fiction. Bursting with a love for her Taiwanese-American heritage, her stories of a family bonding over dim sum, twins engaged in playful misadventures, or a mischievous cosmic child munching on mooncake, captivate and respect young readers of all backgrounds. Lin writes on her website: “Books erase bias, they make the uncommon everyday, and the mundane exotic. A book makes all cultures universal.” By all accounts, Lin’s books continue to exemplify this. 

Her globally popular “Where the Mountain Meets the Moon” (Little, Brown and Company, 2009) tells of Minli, who embarks on a turbulent journey to find the mythical Old Man of the Moon, in hopes that she can change her struggling family’s fate. Throughout this spellbinding tale, Lin deftly weaves in Chinese folktales that fuel the action. Her evocative illustrations enhance the story.

Members of the 2022 Children’s Literature Legacy Award Committee are Chair Brian E. Wilson, Evanston Public Library, Illinois; Susan Dunn, Broomfield Library, Broomfield, Colorado; Nick Glass, TeachingBooks & Book Connections, Berkeley, California; Denise Lyons, Library Consultant, Raleigh, North Carolina; and Lucinda S. Whitehurst, St. Christopher's School, Richmond, Virginia. 

The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) is driven by more than 4,000 members dedicated to the support and enrichment of library service to children. Our members include youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty. ALSC supports its members in engaging communities to build healthy, successful futures for all children. To learn more about ALSC and how to join, please visit our website at

For more information on the Children’s Literature Legacy Award and other ALA literary awards, please visit