Firekeeper’s Daughter Wins 2022 Printz Award

For Immediate Release
Mon, 01/24/2022


Communications and Marketing Office

ALA Media Relations


CHICAGO –  FIREKEEPER’S DAUGHTER, written by Angeline Boulley and published by Henry Holt, an imprint of MacMillan, has won the 2022 Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. has won the 2022 Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature. The award was announced this morning virtually by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), during the ALA Youth Media Awards at LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience, Jan. 21 - 24.  

Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of Sault Ste. Tribe, Chippewa Indians, draws on heritage in a fast-paced novel of drugs, murder, deception. When Daunis puts her medical studies on hold to care for her mother, she’s drawn into an FBI investigation. As deaths and deceptions grow, Daunis discovers her strengths and cultural connections. 

“In a thrilling mystery that embraces modern reservation life as well as strong female characters, Angeline Boulley provides a unique view on both Native American culture and the drug culture that impacts both her world and the world outside the reservation,” said Printz Committee Chair Dr. Janet Hilbun.

Four Honor books were also named.

“Concrete Rose” written by Angie Thomas and published by Balzer+Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers. 

Maverick Carter understands that it takes a real man to take care of his family. When circumstances develop for an unexpected family, Maverick quickly learns the sacrifice involved, including trying to give up the gang life that is his family’s heritage.

“Last Night at the Telegraph Club” by Malinda Lo and published by Dutton Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House.

In 1954, Chinese-American Lily knows her feelings would upset her parents, especially after she meets Kathleen Miller. She keeps her visits to a lesbian night club secret as the Red Scare fears invading her community endanger her family’s well-being.

“Revolution In Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People” by Kekla Magoon, published by Candlewick Press.

This history of the Black Panther Party puts the group into both a historical and sociological perspective that negates the view that they were only a militant group and focuses on the social programs enacted by the party. 

“Starfish” by Lisa Fipps, published by Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House.

Middle-schooler Ellie, a.k.a. Whale, bullied most of her life, lives by a set of Fat Girl Rules. This novel in verse highlights her journey into self-acceptance that she too has a right to take up space in this world.

The award, first given in 2000, is named for the late Michael L. Printz, a Topeka, Kansas school librarian known for discovering and promoting quality books for young adults. The award is administered annually by YALSA and is sponsored by Booklist magazine.

Members of the 2022 Printz Award Committee are: Chair Dr. Janet Hilbun, University of North Texas Department of Information Science, Denton, Texas; Dana Fontaine, Fremont High School, Fremont, Nebraska; Ariadna Jimenez-Barrios, San Diego County Library, San Diego; Matthew Layne, O'Neal Library, Mountain Brook, Alabama; Ariella Mason, Fresno County Library/San Joaquin Valley College, Fresno, California; Ellen McTyre, Bronxville Public Library, Bronxville, New York; Rebecca Standal, Longview Public Library, Longview, Washington;  Kristin Treviño, Irving Public Library, Irving, Texas; and Bobbie Xuereb, MiraCosta College Library, San Diego.

 For more than 50 years, YALSA has worked to build the capacity of libraries and librarians to engage, serve and empower teens. For more information about YALSA or to access national guidelines and other resources go to, or contact the YALSA office by phone, (800) 545-2433, ext. 4390, or email,

For more information on the Michael L. Printz Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit