2021 Schneider Book Award Virtual Celebration registration open

For Immediate Release
Mon, 06/07/2021


Communications and Marketing Office

ALA Media Relations



CHICAGO - The American Library Association and the Schneider Family Book Award Committee cordially invite you to attend the 2021 Schneider Book Award Virtual Celebration at 1:30 p.m. CT on Sunday, June 27, 2021. This Zoom event is free but requires registration before June 26, 2021. 

The Schneider Family Book Awards serve as a guide for librarians, parents, and educators searching for the very best titles that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences. Each year authors or illustrators are honored in three categories younger children (age 0–8), middle grades (age 9–13), and teens (age 14–18). Dr. Katherine Schneider donates the award, and the American Library Association serves as administrator. 

Join us as Schneider Family Book Award authors and illustrators discuss this year's honor and medal selections. Honored guests include:

Younger Children winners author Jordan Scott and illustrator Sydney Smith, "I Talk Like a River," published by Neal Porter Books/Holiday House; and Younger Children honorees author Annette Bay Pimentel, illustrator Nabi H. Ali, and forward by Jennifer Keelan-Chaffins, "All the Way to the Top: How One Girl's Fight for Americans with Disabilities Changed Everything," published by Sourcebook eXplore, an imprint of Sourcebook Kids; and author Tracy Newman and illustrator Abigail Halpin, "Itzhak: A Boy Who Loved the Violin," published by Abrams Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Abrams.   

Middle Grades winner author Ann Clare LeZotte, "Show Me a Sign," published by Scholastic Press, an imprint of Scholastic, Inc.; and Middle Grade honorees author Sarah Kapit, "Get a Grip, Vivy Cohen!," published by Dial Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House LLC; and authors Victoria Jamieson and Omar Mohamed, illustrator Victoria Jamieson, color by Iman Geddy, "When Stars are Scattered," published by Dial Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Penguin Young Readers, a division of Penguin Random House LLC.

Teen Award winner I.W. Gregorio, "This is My Brain in Love," published by Little Brown and Company, a division of Hatchette Books. 

Also attending are members of the 2021 committee, including Susan Hess (co-Chair), New York City school librarian, retired, Osprey, Florida; Kellee Moye (co-Chair), teacher-librarian, Hunter's Creek Middle School, Winter Park, Florida (co-Chair); Cathy Andronik, Brien McMahon High School, retired, Norwalk Public Library, Bridgeport, Connecticut; Rachel G. Payne, coordinator, early childhood services, Brooklyn Public Library, Brooklyn, New York; Sharon Powers, media specialist, Lake Nona Middle School, Orlando, Florida; Pamela Jo Renfrow, school librarian, Memphis, Tennessee; Mary-Kate Sableski, assistant professor, University of Dayton, Dayton, Ohio; Scot Smith, librarian, Robertsville Middle School, Oak Ridge, Tennessee; and Alyson Beecher (ex-officio), educator, Glendale Unified School District, Glendale, California.

For more information on the Schneider Family Book Award and other ALA Youth Media Awards, please visit ala.org/yma