Carnegie Whitney Grant 2021 Award winners

For Immediate Release
Tue, 05/04/2021


Mary Jo Bolduc

Licensing and Permissions Manager


American Library Association

(312) 280-5416

CHICAGO — The Carnegie-Whitney Grant provides grants for the preparation, either in print and/or electronically, of popular or scholarly reading lists, webliographies, indexes and other guides to library resources that will be useful to users of all types of libraries in the United States. 

The American Library Association Publishing Committee is proud to announce the 2021 Carnegie-Whitney Award winners, whose proposed projects promote reading or the use of library resources.

Grace Enriquez and Meg Burns

A Bibliography of Children’s Literature to Celebrate Multilingualism and Facilitate Translanguaging Pedagogies

Jennifer Embree and Neyda Gilman

Equitable Sustainability Literacy: A Resource Guide for Environmental Justice & Activism

Keren Dali and Robert Montes

Mainstreaming Stories from around the World: Reviews of Children’s International Literature in English Translation

Lauren Hays and Jenna Kammer

Digital Citizenship: An Annotated Bibliography

Rae-Anne Montague

Fifty Years of ALA Stonewall Book Awards: An Annotated Guide

Robin Moeller

We're All Orchids Now: A bibliography of children's picture books about dealing with anxiety, 2010-2022

Shu Wan

A Trilingual Bibliography of LGBTQ History Books (2000-2020)

You can view the list of past award winners here

Applications for the next cycle must be received by Nov. 5, 2021. Recipients will be notified by the end of February 2022.

For more information and guidelines, visit or contact Mary Jo Bolduc, Grant Administrator, American Library Association at