ALA Nominating Committee seeks candidates for 2022 election

For Immediate Release
Wed, 04/21/2021


Sheryl Reyes



American Library Association

CHICAGO — The Nominating Committee for the 2022 ALA election is soliciting nominees to run on the 2022 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect, treasurer, and councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select candidates to run for president-elect and treasurer and no fewer than 51 candidates for the 34 at-large council seats to be filled in the 2022 spring election.

The president-elect will serve a three-year term: as president-elect in 2022-23, as president in 2023-24, and as immediate past president in 2024-25.

The treasurer and the councilors-at-large will serve a three-year term 2022-25, beginning after the 2022 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2025 Annual Conference.

The ALA president and councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions pertaining to lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; and e-mail address. Self-nominations are encouraged. All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form found here: The Nominating Committee may ask for additional information about an individual's candidacy for a leadership position.

You will be asked to create an account to access the form. Nominations and forms must be received no later than July 1, 2021. 

Nominations may be sent to any member of the Nominating Committee for the 2022 ALA Election. Committee members are: 

Madeline Pena, Chair
Past REFORMA President
Senior Librarian Digital Content Team
Los Angeles Public Library
Los Angeles, CA 

Kathy Carroll, Member
AASL President
Media Specialist
Westwood High School
Columbia, SC

Tyler Dzuba, Member
Core Board Member
Manager, Learning & Organizational Development
DeEtta Jones & Associates
Rochester, NY

George Gottschalk, Member
Past AILA President
Director, Acquisitions
University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Champaign, IL

Janice Greenberg, Member
Senior Librarian
Jersey City Free Public Library
Jersey City, NJ 

Kirby McCurtis, Member
ALSC President
Interim Director of Outreach and Programming 
Multnomah County Library
Portland, OR

Ray Pun, Member
APALA Vice President
Education and Outreach Manager
Hoover Institution Library & Archives
Palo Alto, CA

Shauntee Burns-Simpson, Member
President, Black Caucus of the American Library Association
Associate Director, School Support
The New York Public Library
New York, NY

Paula Singer, Member
Vice President
Segal Consulting Group
Reisterstown, MD

The 2022 ALA elections will take place March 9-April 6, 2022.