ALA announces the 2022 Carnegie Selection Committee

For Immediate Release
Mon, 04/26/2021


Melissa Carr

Director of Marketing


American Library Association

CHICAGO — The 2022 selection committee is starting work on picking the longlist for the prestigious Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The 2022 committee includes the following experts who work closely with adult readers.

Terry Hong (chair) is a contributing reviewer (Adult, Youth, Audio) and advisory board chair for Booklist. She book-blogs at Smithsonian BookDragon.

Michael Cart, the author or editor of 22 books, is a Booklist columnist and reviewer based in Columbus, Indiana

Aryssa Damron is a librarian for the District of Columbia Public Library system in Washington, D.C.

Bill Kelly is the adult programming manager for Cuyahoga County (Ohio) Public Library.

Savannah Kitchens is the library director for Parnell Memorial Library in Montevallo, Alabama.

Sara Martínez is the founding coordinator for Tulsa City-County (Oklahoma) Library's Hispanic Resource Center and Manager of the library’s Nathan Hale branch.

Derrick A. Young is the Owner and Co-Founder of MahoganyBooks in Washington, D.C.

The 2022 longlist will be announced in October 2021, followed in November by the six-title shortlist—three each in fiction and nonfiction. The two winning titles will be revealed at the RUSA Book and Media Awards event during ALA‘s first LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience (LLX) in San Antonio on Jan. 23, 2022. The celebratory event, including presentations by the winners and a featured speaker, will take place at the 2022 ALA Annual Conference in June 2022 in Washington, D.C.

The upcoming event celebrating the 2021 Carnegie Medal winners will take place virtually on June 24 at 3 p.m. Central, during ALA’s 2021 Annual Conference. Attendees will see presentations by fiction winner James McBride (Deacon King Kong; Riverhead Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC) and nonfiction winner Rebecca Giggs ("Fathoms: The World in the Whale"; Simon & Schuster) as well as keynote speaker, novelist and journalist Thrity Umrigar, the best-selling author of, among others, "The Weight of Heaven," "The World We Found," "The Story Hour," "Everybody’s Son," and "The Secrets Between Us." This free, one-hour celebration is sponsored by NoveList.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals were established in 2012 by the American Library Association and Carnegie Corporation of New York to recognize the best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the U.S. in the previous year. They are the first single-book awards for adult titles given by ALA and are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA.

For more information and to see past longlists, shortlists, and winners, visit Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.