Sam Helmick, Christina Rodriques, Ana Elisa de Campos Salles to serve on ALA Executive Board

For Immediate Release
Fri, 02/05/2021


Sheryl Reyes



American Library Association

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Council has elected Sam Helmick, Christina Rodriques and Ana Elisa de Campos Salles to serve on the ALA Executive Board. The Executive Board election took place during the 2021 ALA Midwinter Meeting and Exhibits, held virtually Jan. 22-26. Elected board members will begin a three-year term beginning in July 2021 and concluding in June 2024.

Sam Helmick is the community and access coordinator at the Iowa City Public Library. They hold a bachelor’s degree in human services from Iowa Wesleyan University and a master’s degree in library and information sciences from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign School of Information Sciences. They serve on the Iowa Governor’s Commission of Libraries and on the Iowa Library Association, on which they are a member of the executive board, are the chair of the Intellectual Freedom Committee, and are ALA chapter councilor. They have served as chair of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT), on the Stonewall Book Awards Committee, on the ALA Policy Monitoring Committee, on the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) Michael L. Printz Committee, on the Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) Sophie Brody Award Committee, on the YALSA Fundraising Task Force, as an ALA Emerging Leader, on the ALA Public Awareness Committee, as the YALSA representative to the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT), as YALSA Division & Membership Promotion chair, on the GLBTRT Advocacy Committee, and as Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) Distance Learning Interest Group chair.

Christina Rodriques is the member relations outreach manager, membership & research, at OCLC. She holds a B.A. in History and a B.A. in Art History as well as an MLIS from Kent State University. Rodriques is currently pursuing an MPA from Kent State University. She serves on the ALA Council as the New Members Round Table (NMRT) Councilor, is chair of the ALA Membership Committee, and is co-chair of the Forward Together Resolutions Working Group. Her professional affiliations include the New Members Round Table (NMRT); the Public Library Association (PLA); the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL); Core: Leadership, Infrastructure, Futures; and the Freedom to Read Foundation.

Ana Elisa de Campos Salles is the branch manager of the Parkside Branch of the San Francisco Public Library. She holds a B.A. in History and a B.S. in Environmental Geoscience from Boston College, an M.S. in Forensic Archaeological Science from the Institute of Archaeology, University College London, and an M.S. in Library and Information Science from Catholic University. She serves on the ALA Council and is a member of the ALA President-elect Advisory Committee, and the Rainbow Round Table (RRT) Fundraising Committee. She has served on the ALA Committee on Committees, the Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services (ODLOS) Advisory Committee, the Spectrum Advisory Committee, the Spectrum Scholarship Jury (which she chaired), the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA) Committee on Diversity and Inclusion, the RRT Executive Board (which she served as director-at-large and chair), the Round Table Coordinating Assembly, and as RRT representative to the Young Adult Library Services Association. She is a 2011 Spectrum Scholar, a 2012 Graduate of the Year from Catholic University, and a 2013 Emerging Leader.

The ALA Executive Board manages the affairs of the Association. It is composed of the president, president-elect, immediate past president, treasurer, executive director and eight members elected by Council from among the members of that body. For more information on the Executive Board, please visit