Nominations open for Paul Howard Award for Courage

For Immediate Release
Tue, 01/26/2021


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American Library Association


CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) Awards Committee is now accepting nominations for the Paul Howard Award for Courage. The award honors a librarian, library board, library group, or an individual who has exhibited unusual courage for the benefit of library programs or services in the face of adversity. Courageous action may be, but is not limited to:

  • Personal struggles against professional ethics or in combatting bias and prejudice;
  • Battles on behalf of intellectual freedom;
  • Successful strategies to restore and build library funding.

The courageous recipient will receive $1,000 and a gold-framed citation.

If you or someone you know has exhibited such courageous activity on behalf of libraries, please complete the Paul Howard Award for Courage Nomination Form by March 01, 2021.

With sincerest gratitude for your service to libraries,

- Paul Howard Award for Courage Jury

Christopher L. Proctor (Chair)

Susan Kusel (Member)

Jennifer Maddox Abbott (Member)

Shali Zhang (Member)