Nominations open for John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award

For Immediate Release
Tue, 12/15/2020


Delin Guerra

Program Officer

International Relations Office

CHICAGO - The American Library Association is accepting nominations for the 2021 John Ames Humphry/OCLC/Forest Press Award for International Librarianship. The deadline for nominations is Jan. 11, 2021.

The award consists of a prize of $1,000 and a certificate, which are presented at the International Relations Round Table Reception at the ALA Annual Conference in Chicago, Illinois. The award is given to a librarian or person who has made significant contributions to international librarianship.

Created on the occasion of the retirement of John Humphry as executive director of Forest Press, publisher of the Dewey Decimal Classification, the award recognizes Humphry's far-ranging work to internationalize the English language editions of Dewey and to ensure that translations were adapted to meet the needs of other cultures and countries.

All nominations should include, as appropriate, personal history or curriculum vitae, with emphasis on achievements related to international librarianship; bibliography, critical reviews, articles, etc.; and letters seconding the nomination or other letters of commendation or appreciation.


Nominations should be sent to the ALA International Relations Office via email,