ALA Nominating Committee seeks candidates for 2021 election

For Immediate Release
Mon, 04/13/2020


Sheryl Reyes


Office of ALA Governance

American Library Association

CHICAGO — The Nominating Committee for the 2021 ALA election is soliciting nominees to run on the 2021 spring ballot for the offices of ALA president-elect and councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for president-elect and no fewer than 51 candidates for the 33 at-large council seats to be filled in the 2021 spring election.

The president-elect will serve a three-year term: as president-elect in 2021-22, as president in 2022-23, and as immediate past president in 2023-24.

The councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2021 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2024 Annual Conference.

The ALA president and councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA]. Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions pertaining to lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; and e-mail address. Self-nominations are encouraged.  All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form found here:

You will be asked to create an account to access the form. Nominations and forms must be received no later than July 10, 2020.

Nominations may be sent to any member of the Nominating Committee for the 2021 ALA Election. Committee members are: 

  • Candice (Wing-yee) Mack (Chair)
    Manager, System-wide Teen Services
    Los Angeles Public Library, Los Angeles, CA 90071
  • Floyd Council
    Executive Director
    Birmingham Public Library, Birmingham, AL 35203
  • Skip Dye
    SVP, Library Marketing & Digital Sales; SVP Dir. Sales Operations
    Penguin Random House, New York, NY 10019
  • Ann Dutton Ewbank
    Associate Professor
    Montana State University, Bozeman, MT 59718
  • Eldon Ray James
    Institutional Survey, Austin, TX 78703
  • Amy Spence Lappin
    Deputy Director
    Lebanon Public Libraries, Lebanon, NH 03776
  • Arlene Laverde
    Townsend Harris High School Library, Jamaica, NY 11426
  • Scott Walter
    University Librarian
    Illinois Wesleyan University, Bloomington, IL 61701
  • Deimosa Webber-Bey
    Sr. Library Manager
    Scholastic Inc., The Scholastic Library & Archive,
    New York, NY 10012

The 2021 ALA elections will take place March 8-April 7, 2021.