Applications open for Penguin Random House Library Award for Innovation

For Immediate Release
Mon, 12/23/2019


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American Library Association


CHICAGO — Applications are now open for The Penguin Random House Library Award for Innovation. The annual award recognizes U.S. libraries and librarians who create lasting innovative community service programs that successfully inspire and connect with new readers. The award consists of a $10,000 cash prize.

The award, established in 2019, is open to public, school, and academic libraries. The $10,000 cash prize given to a library is sponsored by the Penguin Random House Foundation. In addition, four runner-up awards consisting of $1,000 in Penguin Random House books will be awarded to eligible libraries.

Skip Dye, senior vice president, Library Sales and Digital Strategy for Penguin Random House, said, “More than ever before, it is vital to highlight and celebrate the profound impact libraries and librarians have on their community. These awards honor the inventive and resourceful means through which libraries inspire and support diversity, tolerance, and literacy.”

Jury chair, Laurel Bliss stated “Libraries have always been an indispensable part of their community. This award celebrates those that reach out and find new ways to serve and support their users. The generous cash prize from the Penguin Random House Foundation will promote continued partnerships with local organizations and help sustain much needed programming."

The nomination must show evidence of hardship, including economic difficulties or natural disasters, and demonstrate successful partnership(s) that work to overcome the hardship. Partners can include schools, local businesses, museums, and other community organizations. The nomination should focus on innovative and unique programming that may include new technology, reading methods or formats, outreach, etc. Nominees are not required to have a Master’s in Library Science degree but is preferred.

More information about the award, application information, and selection criteria can be found online.  The deadline for applications is February 3, 2020.  The award will be presented at the ALA annual conference in Chicago on Sunday, June 28, 2020, during the ALA President’s Program.