Judi Moreillon wins the Scholastic Library Publishing Award

For Immediate Release
Tue, 04/02/2019


Cheryl Malden

Program Officer


American Library Association



CHICAGO — Judi Moreillon has been named the 2019 winner of ALA’s Scholastic Library Publishing Award. The award, supported by the Scholastic Publishing Company, recognizes a librarian whose unusual contribution to the stimulation and guidance of reading by children and young people, exemplifies outstanding achievement in the profession.

Moreillon is being honored for her exemplary contributions to the fields of literacy and school librarianship. She is a passionate advocate for the roles that literacy and school libraries play in a child’s education, from birth through adulthood. Her considerable influence on how school libraries approach reading, from an instructional standpoint as well as reading for pleasure, is well known to school library professionals.

She has served as a school librarian at all instructional levels, as well as a classroom teacher, district-level librarian mentor and literacy coach. For twenty-one years, Moreillon taught preservice graduate-level school librarians as well as children’s and youth services public librarians. She is widely respected for her work as a literacy and libraries consultant and a mentor for the Lilead Project, a program created in 2011 to study, support, and build community among school library leaders.

She is the author of four professional books for school librarians and classroom teachers as well as three books for children and families. She is also the creator of original material for her website, Storytrail.com and her blog, School Librarian Leadership. Nationally known, she continues to offer presentations and workshops that support school librarians in developing their capacity to lead and in co-teaching reading comprehension strategies through the library program.

Moreillon is recognized for her leadership positions within the American Association of School Librarians, currently serving as Chair of the Reading Position Statements Task Force. From 2016-2018, she served as chair of AASL Innovative Approaches to Literacy Task Force. She is the former chair of the AASL School Librarian’s Role in Reading Task Force and helped author the "Position Statement on the School Librarian’s Role in Reading.

The annual award, consisting of $1,000 and a citation of achievement, will be presented at the ALA Annual Conference in Washington, D.C. in June.

Members of the 2019 Scholastic Library Publishing Award committee are: Chair Susan Hess, Sarasota, Florida, Caroline Ward, Cos Cob, Connecticut and Dr. Cindy C. Welch, Knoxville, Tennessee.

More information about the Scholastic Library Publishing Award including how to submit a nomination, is available on the ALA website (www.ala.org).