For immediate release | February 1, 2017

Tickets available for 2017 Arbuthnot Lecture featuring Jacqueline Woodson

CHICAGO — The Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the South Carolina State Library announced that tickets for the 2017 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture featuring Jacqueline Woodson are now available.

The lecture, titled "What Gets Left Behind: Stories From The Great Migration," will be held at 7 p.m. on Saturday, April 1, 2017 in the W. W. Hootie Johnson Performance Hall, in the Darla Moore School of Business, at the University of South Carolina. Required tickets are free for the lecture and must be obtained through the South Carolina State Library’s website. To learn more about acquiring tickets and event details, please visit the 2017 May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture website.

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2014 National Book Award Winner for her New York Times bestselling memoir, "Brown Girl Dreaming." The author of more than two dozen books for young readers, she is a four-time Newbery Honor winner, a recipient of the NAACP Image Award, the 2014 National Book Award winner for young people's literature and a two-time Coretta Scott King Award winner. She was recently named the Young People's Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation.

The May Hill Arbuthnot Lecture is sponsored by ALSC. The lecture title honors May Hill Arbuthnot, distinguished writer, editor and children’s literature scholar. Each year, an author, artist, critic, librarian, historian or teacher of children’s literature is selected to prepare a paper considered to be a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature.

ALSC is the world’s largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. With a network of more than 4,000 children’s and youth librarians, literature experts, publishers and educational faculty, ALSC is committed to creating a better future for children through libraries. To learn more about ALSC, please visit at


Courtney Jones

Awards Coordinator

American Library Association