For immediate release | February 28, 2017

Applications now being accepted for the 2017 John Cotton Dana Awards

Eight Winners Will Receive $10,000 Development Awards

CHICAGO — The American Library Association (ALA) is now accepting submissions for the John Cotton Dana Awards (JCD). These awards, managed by the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA), a division of ALA, honors outstanding library public relations. Eight $10,000 awards are granted each year by the H.W. Wilson Foundation at an annual ceremony sponsored by ALA and EBSCO Information Services.

Entries for the 2017 JCD are submitted electronically and must be received by March 17, 2017. More information, including entry documents, can be found at:

The award is named after John Cotton Dana, the father of the modern library who is credited with helping transition libraries from reading rooms to community centers. JCD submissions include strategic library communications campaigns from libraries of all types and size. Submissions have included rebranding efforts, promotion of unique archives, awareness campaigns and community partnerships. Entries may be submitted by any library, Friends group, consulting agency or service provider unless they are represented on the JCD Committee.

JCD entries are organized around the following areas: needs assessment, planning, implementation and evaluation. Libraries submit samples of their processes, research, media releases, media coverage or other results received along with evaluation of the results and other documentation and supporting materials that show the scope and effectiveness of the library’s strategic communication efforts.

In recognition of the achievement, JCD award winners receive a cash development award from the H.W. Wilson Foundation. The John Cotton Dana Awards are presented during an awards ceremony hosted by EBSCO Information Services held during the American Library Association annual conference.

About the John Cotton Dana Awards

The John Cotton Dana Awards were inaugurated at the 1946 annual conference of the American Library Association. They were named after John Cotton Dana (1856-1929), a librarian called the father of the modern library.

About the Library Leadership and Management Association (LLAMA)

The Library Leadership and Management Association ( advances outstanding leadership and management practices in library and information services by encouraging and nurturing individual excellence in current and aspiring library leaders. LLAMA is a division of the American Library Association.

About EBSCO Information Services

EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) is the leading discovery service provider for libraries worldwide with more than 10,000 discovery customers in over 100 countries. EBSCO Discovery Service™ (EDS) provides each institution with a comprehensive, single search box for its entire collection, offering unparalleled relevance ranking quality and extensive customization. EBSCO is also the preeminent provider of online research content for libraries, including hundreds of research databases, historical archives, point-of-care medical reference, and corporate learning tools serving millions of end users at tens of thousands of institutions. EBSCO is the leading provider of electronic journals & books for libraries, with subscription management for more than 360,000 serials, including more than 57,000 e-journals, as well as online access to more than 800,000 e-books. For more information, visit the EBSCO website at: EBSCO Information Services is a division of EBSCO Industries Inc., a family owned company since 1944.

For more information, please contact:

Kathleen McEvoy

Vice President of Communications

(800) 653-2726 ext. 2594


Fred Reuland

LLAMA Program Officer, Continuing Education

American Library Association

Library Leadership and Management Association