ALA launches Public Policy Advisory Council

For Immediate Release
Wed, 04/13/2016


Jazzy Wright

Press Officer

Washington Office

American Library Association


As part of its National Policy Convening, the American Library Association (ALA) today announces the establishment of a Public Policy Advisory Council (PPAC) to strengthen the engagement of the library community in national public policy. The Council will be made up of members from a broad range of non-library sectors—including technology, publishing, telecommunications, trade associations, government, foundations and other non-profits, health, financial services, and think tanks—reflecting the diverse range of policy areas of relevance to the library community.
"Libraries have transformed to advance important national goals and deliver effective entrepreneurship, education, empowerment, and engagement in communities," said ALA President Sari Feldman. “More than ever, we must increase understanding by decision makers and influencers and amplify the message that libraries create individual opportunity and community progress."
The Council will provide vision, creativity, innovation, and energy to guide the ALA and U.S. libraries toward effective policy advocacy and outcomes. “Working within their own communities and networks, Council members seek out opportunities to leverage library strengths and resources to advance shared priorities,” said Alan S. Inouye, director of ALA’s Office for Information Technology Policy (OITP). “We look forward to the Council’s guidance on advancing the National Policy Agenda for Libraries."(pdf)
Members of the ALA Public Policy Advisory Council were selected through a rigorous vetting process and will serve two-year terms. The members of this inaugural Council are:
Laurent Crenshaw, Head of Federal Policy, Yelp
Skip Dye, VP and Director of Sales Operations, Penguin Random House
Amma Felix, VP of Strategy and Secretary, UNCF (United Negro College Fund)
Alan G. Fishel, Partner, Arent Fox LLP
Keith Krueger, CEO, Consortium for School Networking
Tiffany Moore, VP of Congressional Affairs, Consumer Technology Association
Piper Nieters Su, VP of Health Policy, The Advisory Board Company
Katherine Oyama, Senior Policy Counsel, Google, Inc.
Jon Peha, Professor of Engineering and Policy, Carnegie Mellon University
Michael Petricone, Sr. VP of Government Affairs, Consumer Technology Association
Brooks Rainwater, Center Director/City Solutions & Applied Research, National League of Cities
Jocelyn B. Richgels, Director of National Policy Programs, Rural Policy Research Institute
Tony Sarmiento, Executive Director, Senior Service America
Michael Scurato, VP of Policy, National Hispanic Media Coalition
David Young, VP of Public Policy, Verizon
"We’re pleased that such a distinguished and diverse set of national leaders is willing to serve," said Larra Clark, deputy director of ALA’s OITP. "It is great that their formal service begins with our first-ever National Policy Convening, and it is timely to help position libraries strategically in the transition planning for the next President and Administration."
Biographical sketches for Council members are available online as is information about the Policy Revolution! initiative focused on advancing national policy engagement for the library community and ALA’s overall public policy portfolio.